Quantcast

WiFi quality

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by jphccfc, Jul 6, 2013.

  1. jphccfc

    jphccfc New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I've decided to replace my revue with the co-star in anticipation of the next gtv release. My revue connected without a problem to my wireless home network and had good speeds to stream high definition. My co-star seems to have the same signal strength but the actual download speeds are very low 1mb compared to 10mb+ on my revue. Are there any tips for being successful with WiFi on the co-star?
     
  2. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
  3. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. jphccfc

    jphccfc New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks guys tried reboot as well as static ip but still having speed issues with WiFi!

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
     
  5. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If possible, avoid WiFi on the Co-Star like you would the Plague ....
     
  6. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Did you try the speed test with the Chrome browser? Some people said they think the other network speed test on the Co-Star might be defective.

    As a troubleshooting measure can you try removing encryption and see if you get the same results.
     
  7. jphccfc

    jphccfc New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Chrome speedtest.net showed similar low speeds. Thinking about hard wiring.

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
     
  8. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know sometimes in some situations you cannot avoid using WiFi, but a wired Ethernet CAT 6 cables (For The Fastest Video/Audio Packett Data Transfer) connection is always the best/fastest video/audio packett data stream transfer for the Vizio Co-Star ...
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Do you use a router/modem combination device? In other words does your ISP supply you a modem with the router built-in? If so then I have a hunch that switching to ethernet using the same modem/router device might not solve your issue completely. But give ethernet a try.

    If you read that thread that I linked to about Co-Star speed test - the user "mgm1979" had the same low speed test results with both ethernet & wi-fi. MGM1979 uses a combination modem/router. Thus by logic the problem he experienced is related to the router's interaction with the Co-Star.

    If your wired test doesn't improve results - then is there any way you can try connecting directly to modem only (no router/modem combination device)?

    As you can see from the following wired Co-Star thread (see link below) - some others with wired internet also still have the slow speed issue. The one constant is that they all use a router/modem combination device:


    http://www.googletvforum.org/forum/vizio-co-star/7063-wired-internet-co-star.html


    http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/25219-42-internet-slow-router <---(some slow router tips)

    *Note: One of the tips that worked for several people with a slow router was to turn off the firewall.
     
    Last edited: Jul 6, 2013
  11. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Follow your hunch and use the wired connection ....
     
  12. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    By all means if you can run ethernet cable to each network device in house, do so, that is best. It would be way to difficult for me, I have about 20 devices connected to my network all by Wi-Fi and get acceptable signal strength and speeds throughout the house. The Vizio Co-Star Wi-Fi works well enough for me, speed tests are around 10-12 Mbps which is faster than any internet streaming source I am aware of and certainly faster than any I use, including Vudu but unfortunately Vudu is broken on the Co-Star right now so I can't confirm it will sustain those speeds for a 2-hour movie without issue.

    I know several other streaming boxes on the same network run Vudu without issue and I expect the Co-Star once fixed will do the same. All streaming sources I can access with the Co-Star have worked fine using Wi-Fi. I haven't bothered to check which Wi-Fi chip is used with the Co-Star, if it is any worse or better than the other Google TV boxes and I haven't had any Wi-Fi issues with any of the four Google TV models connected to my network.
     
  13. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The only way I would use a WiFi connection via my Co-Stars are if had too ... That's the only way and I know I have a very strong WiFi signal all over my house ....
     
  14. jphccfc

    jphccfc New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your help. I have just finished hardwiring from my top floor to the lounge and my internet speeds are running consistently and fast. Streaming hd works great now. I just need to get the remote control working with my Motorola hd dvr (standard codes don't work) then everything will be perfect.

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta
     
  15. deadringer28

    deadringer28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I just bought a second Co-Star for my bedroom and I will be forced to use WiFi with it. In this same position I have successfully used a laptop (with HD) a PS3 and a WD live with no issues. I am not sure why I would expect to experience a lot of issues with the Vizio but I do not have it setup yet. I will report what I find back to this thread for sure and I have 90 days to decide if I will keep it for this room.
     
  16. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If WiFi doesn't work out for you, use the house wiring plug-in Ethernet plugs works like a charm ...
     
  17. deadringer28

    deadringer28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Is that the same as Ethernet over Power lines? If so I have thought of that and would check it out for sure before I return the Vizio. Just trying to save on costs. I wont be doing a ton of HD form this TV and most just my wife watching TV shows but if I can get the quality bar raised without spending a lot of money that would be great.

    Thanks Wisdom
     
  18. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, Ethernet Over Power Lines and go here http://www.googletvforum.org/forum/...io-co-star-reviews-your-hands-experience.html .... Read up on tips for the Vizio Co-Star, take care ..
     
  19. zim2dive

    zim2dive Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    28
    another option might be a wireless bridge... not sure which would cost you less... basic idea is that IT would terminate the Wifi and provide several wired jacks at the location of your Co-Star.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  20. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

costar box wifi signal