Quantcast

Webpage has a Redirect Loop

Discussion in 'Google TV General Discussion' started by fugitive1, May 2, 2013.

  1. fugitive1

    fugitive1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I try to go to the NHL Gamecenter through the Spotlight Apps on my Sony Internet TV, Google Chrome gives me the above statement on the page. Even trying the address directly through Chrome, I get the same warning and just some instructions to remove cookies.

    Having cleared the cookies and web history, I still get this warning. Yet, other pages I can still easily get to. Help, it's Playoff Season!

    Thanks!
     
  2. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,605
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Hi. You need to go to your Chrome settings and enter the following custom user agent string:

    Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; Intel Mac OS X 10_8_2) AppleWebKit/537.17 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/24.0.1309.0 Safari/537.17

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    The above fix for too many redirects on GTV was mentioned by the GTV development team here:

    http://code.google.com/p/googletv-i...olspec=ID Stars Type Status Summary&start=100


    and this fix was confirmed to specifically work with NHL GameCenter Live on GTV here:

    http://www.googletvforum.org/forum/vizio-co-star/7684-webpage-has-redirect-loop-error-310-a.html
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2013
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Carlszone

    Carlszone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    I just tried that User Agent string out and for the first time after a restart I was not redirected to the browser upgrade page in Outlook mail. It's early yet but this might be the cure.

    Carl
     
  4. Carlszone

    Carlszone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    Hi

    On both the Logitech Revue & the Sony GS7 the user agent string does get rid of the browser redirect in Outlook Mail. It's great to be able to go directly to my inbox again.

    Thanks, Catfish!

    Carl
     
  5. overtimeman

    overtimeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Clemson,S.C.
    The only drawback for me I found is that facebook will not work.All that shows is a blank white page.
     
  6. Carlszone

    Carlszone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    Haven't tried it yet, but the cool thing is that you can just click on Generic for those sites. Then just choose Custom and the string can easily be reapplied. Also, you may not always have to do a restart after each change. Test it out.

    Carl
     
  7. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,605
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yes as Carl mentioned Facebook should work with user agent set to "generic" (or "default" works too). Also, unfortunately videos on Facebook require Flash 11 - thus they don't work with GTV.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2013
  8. Carlszone

    Carlszone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    Hi Mike, Catfish

    Mike, I just tested it out. Using the User Agent string the page is indeed blank below the navigation bar. I simply changed the user agent to Generic & hit back and the page was viewable. No need to restart. Changed it back & hit OK. Catfish, he's not talking about videos. The page was blank.
     
  9. Carlszone

    Carlszone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    LOL!

    Ya edited yer post...
     
  10. overtimeman

    overtimeman Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Clemson,S.C.
    Well at least GTV is still finding those little tricks to make things work.Gonna have to see if espn3 will work properly now!
     
  11. Carlszone

    Carlszone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    Hi Mike

    I doubt if any User Agent can make that crazy site work properly w/any GTV device or TV. The problem is the ads. They are the main cause of Flash Shockwave crashes. This must be addressed by the website for all small client and mobile devices. An example is the Wimbledon tennis live broadcasts that work well because of the lack of ads. I watched the whole tournament via my Logitech Revue. Not one crash! Only because it was ad free.

    They really need to develop an app...

    Carl
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
galaxy s5 active redirect loop
,
logitech revue nhl gamecenter
,
my galaxy s5 is saying this web page has a redirect loop
,
redirect loop galaxy s5
,

samsung web page has a redirect loop

,
this webpage has a redirect loop on samsung s5
,
this webpage has a redirect loop samsung s5
,
webpage has a redirect loop android
,
webpage has a redirect loop samsung s4
,

why only mobile site gives redirect loop s5