Quantcast

VOIP Calling w/ ATA Device/GTV

Discussion in 'Google TV General Discussion' started by chicha29, Mar 4, 2011.

1. chicha29

chicha29 New Member

First Post:

I received the following e-mail today from Google. I was using the Gizmo5 VOIP service with a Sipura 3102 ATA device. The device seems to be acting up at the moment so I'm unable to make any internet telephone calls. It came with a built-in router, which I have connected to an MSNTV2 device.. I hope I can get it to work again! I've been using it for about four years. Now, I've just purchased a Google TV. I still need an HDTV, though. I hope to buy one in about two weeks. I'm without the capability of making a phonecall over the internet at the moment. When I hook up the GTV, what are my options regarding VOIP? How do I "call phones from within Gmail" or via Google Voice using Google TV? If it is necesary to wait for the Android Market, how would that work.
    O.K., finally this: With these ATA VOIP devices, you don't need to have a computer on to receive or make phone calls. This capability is not something that Google TV will be able to match - even with an "application". Isn't this so? If so, I'll need to buy another Analog(?) Telephone Adapter.
    --------------
    Gizmo5 is writing to let you know that we will no longer be providing service starting on April 3, 2011. A week from today, March 11, 2011, you will no longer be able to add credit to your account.
    Although the standalone Gizmo5 client will no longer be available, we have since launched the ability to call phones from within Gmail at even more affordable rates.