Quantcast

Vizio Co Star Useless?

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by gkamieneski, Jan 28, 2016.

  1. gkamieneski

    gkamieneski Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Is there any future for GTV devices such as Vizio Co Star or are these throwaways? I surely didn't have mine very long, can no longer use WatchESPN and choices from the Google Play store are greeted with Not Compatible with Your Device.

    Will there be any way of upgrading the Co Star to Android TV?
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    It will still get Netflix and YouTube and various streaming services that can be accessed by the Chrome browser but WatchESPN quit working for me, and I assume everybody else, and Amazon stopped access to Amazon Instant Video. Is it worthless? That depends on what you want but there will be no possible way to update it to Android TV as far as I know.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. ronnycopeh

    ronnycopeh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Mine is still great, use it daily, youtube, netflix, Redbox, Plex with all thie goodies, thuzz sports, playon and a lot more, all of my movies, music and pic from my computer. I also watch all the espns thru playon on the costar. I have tried other clients but none as good as CoStar, update or not I make it work for my needs
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. salmast

    salmast New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I agree with Ronny 100%. Vizio hit a home run on this one.
    Had one burn out in the living room and replaced it immediately.
    Also own the Nexus Player, works fine with this bluetooth keyboard.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2016
  5. salmast

    salmast New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Make FULL BACKUPS, because a factory reset will leave you dead in the water
    (obsolete, previous apps unavailable). I've got a 220mb backup here if needed,
    includes GTV remote app. Tried updating existing apps, where setup either can't
    parse files or is looking for later version of "google play" & flash.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2016
  6. stargoogly

    stargoogly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Would you like to share the apps somehow? I will appreciate it if you can.

    I did factory reset and I lost some apps and I couldn't find the apk to side-load.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  7. chip

    chip New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I did factory reset and I lost the some apps to. cant get youtube or amazon. I wounder if we could side load
    ARC Welder or something like that to get this working again.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2016
    • Like Like x 1
  8. salmast

    salmast New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Sure, I've uploaded a zip from May6th2016 with all apks. Includes factory default and sideload
    apks, and so you'll have to sort through them. From what I tell, these were my added apps:

    accuweather, alarmextreme, androzip (bkups), amazon, biblegateway,
    bookmarks, docstogo, gdrive, esfileexplorer, evernote, flickstream,
    flipboard, funnyforfree, chrome, moviestvshowsfree, netflix, popcornflix,
    printershare, quello, snagfilms, snagextreme, solitare, talkback, timetellertv,
    tripsmart, us50news, viki, voicesearch(needsphoneapp), vudu,
    watchclassicmovies, youtube

    First make sure you have settings\applications\unknown sources checked or it
    wont allow sideloads. From there, what I do is to use Vizo Co-Star Browser to
    download & install EsFileExplorer first, which then lets you browse to the rest
    of them located either on USB flash drive or shared home network folder. The
    GTV remote app for android phones is in a separate folder. Then empty your
    download folder and you're set to go.

    Both files (apk & huge zip 220mb)
    http://batonrougecustomcabinets.com/apk/BkupCoStar1/EsFileExplorer_1.6.2.5.apk
    http://batonrougecustomcabinets.com/apk/BkupCoStar1/BKUP_CoStar1_Obsolete.zip

    Co-Star wont give you Kodi + KodiMasterRepo (free cabletv and movies).
    Nexus Player will, and even has the FreeTvProject app from this site.
    Downloads | Kodi

    Regards,
    Sal
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2016
  9. salmast

    salmast New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Hi Chip,
    Forget ARC, as Co-Star is Dinosaur Chrome version 3.2-17544; & ARM CPU.
    My post above should do the trick, and let me know if you guys need help. You
    may have to restart the unit for EsFileExplorer to see USB.

    Refurb Nexus Players are selling on Ebay for $65 to $85; plus $20 for a Bluetooth
    keyboard w/scrollpad.

    Regards,
    Sal
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2016
  10. chip

    chip New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Cool I will try this. Thanks
     
  11. salmast

    salmast New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I reloaded it from scratch 2 weeks ago, so this method works.
     
  12. stargoogly

    stargoogly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Thanks a lot for sharing the backup Sal! I could able to install the apps I wanted.

    Some of the apps are like a bonus and I had no idea that they would work on Co-Star.

    Had Vizio updated the Android on it, Kodi could have been a reality. It's unfortunate because this device could run it very well.

    I've been using Plex on it but now it seems the old version on the SDK is a problem to get the new Plex updates.
     
  13. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    There are Plex apps that should work with Google TV, the old Google TV version and the typical Android version accessible from the Play Store. If you haven't already, try the current Play Store Plex app.
     
  14. salmast

    salmast New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Co-Star is ARM CPU, and so it's totally foreign to x86 apps.
     
  15. salmast

    salmast New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    By the way, I used the androzip app to make the backup; where you click "apps"; select all, & then click the backup button (simple) . By the way, Androzip doesn't work on Nexus, and so I'm digging around for something.
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2016
  16. stargoogly

    stargoogly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Has anyone been able to get the Plex update on Co-Star later than 4.24.2.563 ?
     
  17. stargoogly

    stargoogly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Later versions would fail to install with error

    Failure [INSTALL_FAILED_OLDER_SDK]

    Maybe Android 3.2 is no more supported.
     
  18. Brian202020

    Brian202020 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    I have been slowly replacing my 6 Co-Stars over the last year. I have one left to replace. I currently have a Nvidia Shield Pro, Mad Catz MOJO (running CM12), a Ugoos UT3, two Pine64's (running 5.1.1), and one Co-Star. I miss the HDMI overlays/passthrough on all the new Android boxes (except the UT3), but the power and freedom I've gained by replacing them is so worth it. Trust me, the grass is a lot greener.
     
  19. rude

    rude New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Do you happen to have a backup of the system apps for the Co-Star? I accidentally deleted my backup folder I had on my PC and now I cannot even login to use apps.

    Please help,

    Rude
     
  20. rude

    rude New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2017
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Does anyone have the stock system apps for this?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

android tv forum co star useless

,

android update for vizio co star

,
games for vizio co star
,

kodi for vizio co star

,
vizio co star forums
,

vizio co star kodi

,
vizio co star lt download kodi
,

vizio co star update

,

vizio costar useless

,
what android version does visio co-star have