Quantcast

Tversity not working after working for few days

Discussion in 'Sony Internet TV' started by peterchanws, Oct 6, 2011.

  1. peterchanws

    peterchanws New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tversity not working after working for few days. Any idea?
    Thanks
     
  2. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Hmm... seems fine to me. What exactly is not working? That's a pretty vague description.
     
  3. peterchanws

    peterchanws New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    TVersity does not appear as a server for me to select.
     
  4. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Have you tried restarting TVersity?
     
  5. peterchanws

    peterchanws New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried restart TVersity and it was still not in the device list. I tried to reinstall TVersity today, it worked for an hour and when I left SONY Media Player and returned to Media Player later, TVersity was missing again from the device list. The device always shows the Windows media player server in my Win 7 machine. Since Sony Media Player can only find the music in the Win 7 media player but not the photos and video, I tried TVersity. When TVersity is working, I can see music, photo and video.
     
  6. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Try turning off Windows Media Player Sharing, its possible that its sharing the same port as TVersity and is overriding access over the network.
     
  7. peterchanws

    peterchanws New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After I turn off Windows Media Player, I got "No devices to display" in the Device List. After waiting for 10 min., TVersity appears.
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2011
  8. peterchanws

    peterchanws New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It seems every time I leave and return to TVersity, it takes SONY Googlr TV at least 5 minutes to acquire TVersity. Is it common for all TVersity users?
     
  9. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Does the computer which TVersity is installed go into a lower power mode when not in use? The delay could be caused by the time necessary for it to wake up. You might want to consider checking TVersity Support Forums or TVersity - Support
     
  10. peterchanws

    peterchanws New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It is not the computer because I am using it.

    Would my network config the cause of the problem? My networks are
    DSL Modem router (801.11b/g) connect to wall jack; connect to my computer hosting TVersity thru. ethernet cable
    Linksys (801.11n) router connect to DSL modem/rounter thru ethernet cable and connect to SONY Google TV wireless
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2011
  11. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I dunno it is possible. One way to test your theory is to plug in the Sony TV into an Ethernet jack on the DSL Modem/Router to rule out network connectivity.

    Basically, DLNA clients discover applicable servers by sending out a broadcast packet. Once a DLNA server receives such a packet then it responds by establishing a handshake to the client. This is when the available servers propagate in the Media Server start screen. This process should only take a few seconds not minutes.
     
  12. peterchanws

    peterchanws New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I reboot my router and now everything work fine.

    Thanks everyone for your help.
     
  13. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Sure, you're welcome. Glad I could help. Though, I guess the "e" in eferz can stand for "everyone". Meh, I've been called worse. ;)
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

sony tv not showing tversity