Quantcast

Trouble using the remote as a ir blaster

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by Joendsu, Aug 24, 2012.

  1. Joendsu

    Joendsu New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When is use the google remote on my iPhone I was expecting the Vizio remote to relay ir commands to the tv/receiver. If I use the volume button on the remote, it correctly controls the receiver - if I use the column on the app it does not change the receiver volume.
    Note: the remote is in line do site with the receiver.

    Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Labmanmi

    Labmanmi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I working on the exact same problems I'm going to try to connect my Revue keyboard next and I'm having the same issue from my android with Ice Cream I tried Able app and google tv app.
     
  3. degsie

    degsie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The Co-Star doesn't have an internal or cabled IR blaster so Able or Google TV remote apps can't control your regular TV volume. You guys are assuming that the remote apps interface with the co-star remote? The co-star remote is 'dumb' in the sense that it doesn't get an IP address etc so no communication is possible over the lan.

    Have a look here.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  4. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wait a minute, my Co-Star remote controls my cable box, on/off, change channels, regular TV on/off, volume, it also controls my Blu-ray player too ... This is the reason I'm going to purchase another Co-Star ..
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
  5. degsie

    degsie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    18
    You are getting confused :confused:, sorry. This thread is about controlling your a/v setup via an app on phone/tablet.
     
  6. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    say what, ok cool , yeah..(lol)
     
  7. twosted

    twosted New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looks like a software bug. Vizio specs say this will work with the Google TV Remote app. I have tried and it is spotty at best. Every now and then it will work but even then its only for like one button press (I press guide, the guide comes up but it won't respond after that).
     
  8. degsie

    degsie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'd be interested if you could provide a reference to this from Vizio website. I couldn't find it :(
     
  9. twosted

    twosted New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    VIZIO

    On the bottom of the page in the comparison chart under Remote Experience it lists "Phone & Tablet app".

    VIZIO Co-Star

    Again at the bottom of the page it says "For times when the remote is not nearby, downloading the free Google TV™ remote control app gives you full control of your Co-Star from your Android or Apple smart phone or tablet."
     
  10. degsie

    degsie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ah, ok. But it doesn't mention control of connected devices!
     
  11. twosted

    twosted New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But it does control other devices, just very intermittently. Like I said earlier it controls my stb but is very spotty.
     
  12. degsie

    degsie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well, all I can say is that the OP's assumption that android/iOS apps can use the Vizio physical remote ir blaster capability to control his TV volume is incorrect. The app developers have already stated this.
     
  13. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    I don't think this is a limitation, (at least I'd hope so) but rather a matter of debugging/ future updates.

    From my understanding that there is a two-way communication between the remote and the unit (via bluetooth) to send IR commands (from remote IR blaster) to control TV/STB.




    FYI, CoStar-box supports HDMI control signals (HDMI-CEC) - see this link

    Btw, I think additional future control option like "Remote IP commands" (via HDMI) to control STBs will be available (maybe Dish support it) :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2012
  14. dtaylor

    dtaylor Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    18
    My Google TV controls my added boxes using hdmi-cec. I have a Sony though.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  15. Joendsu

    Joendsu New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another dissipointment from this thing...I don't see why the two way Bluetooth can't comm with the remote and ir blast to the other devices.
     
  16. twosted

    twosted New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But it does, try this. Set up a favorite channel using the "favorites" app. Then select that favorite channel. The Co-Star will relay that channel to the remote which then sends a signal to the stb to change to that channel.
     
  17. Joendsu

    Joendsu New Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When using a android/iOS remote?
     
  18. degsie

    degsie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Just read this:

    Update: Significant Limitations of Vizio Co-Star Google TV Device
    It seems the physical remote can be used to send the IR commands for IP remotes such as +Able Remote, but it is disabled by default.

    The remote goes into power save mode when the physical buttons aren't pressed. You have to disable power save: Settings -> Devices -> Bluetooth -> Vizio XRA700 Remote -> Remote power save -> Off. The remote will be on all the time and can then be used to forward the IR commands for Able Remote. You have to point the remote at the devices and of course the remote battery will be drained faster. Its an awkward solution, but at least it is technically possible.
     
  19. twosted

    twosted New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Like I said earlier, for me it does intermittently. The point I was trying to make is that the Co-star is capable of sending commands to the ir blaster via the Bluetooth connection.
     
  20. degsie

    degsie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Can somebody test after disabling remote power save? Be interested to find out if the ir relay actually works.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

ir blaster for note 2

,

vizio co star ip

,

where is the ir on vizio remote

,

www google ir co