Quantcast

The Decline And Fall Of Tivo And Media Center

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by CatfishRivers, Sep 4, 2011.

1. CatfishRivers

CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

The decline and fall of TiVo and Media Center | ZDNet

F
    rom the article:

"Given the current inflated market in patents, I wouldn't be surprised to see Google or Microsoft pay a hefty premium to acquire TiVo-if only for its solid gold brand name and its market-tested patent portfolio".

2. ChrisG8

ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

If the Google Motorola Mobility acquisition goes through, I don't see Google purchasing TiVo. It is very clear that TiVo can't operate profitably in its current form, there is no market of significance willing to pay the necessary price. I have been using TiVo since 2000 and think its products are great but other than patent infringement lawsuits, it has done consistently poor every year in terms of profit and loss. TiVo with Google TV would be a great product but would have to be priced too high.

3. eferz

eferz Well-Known Member

I doubt that Google is even interested in TiVo since they already have Sage TV and is trying to acquire Motorola Mobility. That's not to say TiVo needs Google to buy them out to survive, but they should consider exploring a relationship with Google to stay relevant. Instead of relying on themselves to keep the platform pertinent they should allow third-party development through an app store. However, instead of trying to reinvent the wheel, they should just buckle down and partner with Google to come up with a GoogleTiVo hybrid. Provided of course, if Google ever decides to make the Android Market available to Google TV.

Here's an article that I read not too long ago, which I believe still remains good suggestions for the company.

Last edited: Sep 6, 2011
  4. eferz

eferz Well-Known Member