Quantcast

System Update

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by chicha29, Jun 30, 2011.

  1. chicha29

    chicha29 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I received a system update this morning. Anyone know what that is about?

    When I set up the Logitech Revue two months ago, I only had internet access, not cable TV. Yesterday, I installed digital cable. In the Revue settings, I haven't inputted information to the effect that a cable TV service is now being used. Maybe the device detected the digital cable signal and did the system update on account of that?
     
  2. antgod

    antgod New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tacoma,WA
    I received a update to day, not sure what it does and I've had my revue since November so I don't think it's because of your tv

    Sent from my Inspire 4G using Tapatalk
     
  3. calemr

    calemr New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I am not allowed to post a link yet because I have less the 10 posts but here is the official word from logitech.

    Hi,

    We have begun sending out a software update to Logitech Revue over the air today. We are sending the update out in waves and it will take a few days before all Logitech Revue boxes receive it. All Logitech Revue boxes will receive the update by end of day on Saturday, July 2, 2011.

    Your Logitech Revue will display a message when the update is available to you for download and installation. If you are not using your Logitech Revue when the message is displayed, the update will automatically be installed after 30 minutes of the message being displayed with no response.

    To check if your Logitech Revue has received the update, follow the steps below:
    1. From the Google TV home screen, go to Applications > Settings > About.
    2. Scroll down to Build Number. If your Logitech Revue has received the update, the number will end in "b54202"
    This software update applies security fixes.

    Regards,

    Logitech Revue Customer Care


     
  4. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ohhhh NO!! Not yet another meaningless security fix for the umpteenth time. I hope this new update doesn't break more functionality again.
     
  5. sparkyscott21

    sparkyscott21 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7,280
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northern Mich.
    Is that what we got in the form of an update?
    A security update and or breach? :confused:
     
  6. Rickaren

    Rickaren New Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana, Logitech Revue
    Logitech Revue Gets Minor Security Update
    $revue.jpg
    June 30, 2011

    It looks like the Logitech Revue with Google TV has gotten a little update, but it’s not the [FONT=inherit ! important][FONT=inherit ! important]Android[/FONT][/FONT]] 3.1 update we heard about earlier this year. This update is just a quick security update applying ‘security fixes’, according to Logitech.
    If you’d like to check whether the update has been sent out to your Revue, do the following steps:

    1. From the Google TV home screen, go to Applications > Settings > About.
    2. Scroll down to Build Number. If your Logitech Revue has received the update, the number will end in “b54202"
    All Logitech Revues are set to have received this update by the end of the day on July 2nd. Hopefully that 3.1 update will follow [FONT=inherit ! important][FONT=inherit ! important]suit[/FONT][/FONT] shortly!

    SOURCE
     
  7. sparkyscott21

    sparkyscott21 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7,280
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northern Mich.
    Oh, another under the hood update.. Thanx for that guys... [​IMG]
     
  8. thedude

    thedude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I got mine this morning. No detectable difference. For a moment I dared to hope it was 3.1.

    I wonder if this is an update to smooth the transition/update to 3.1?

    Sent from my Nexus S 4G using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page