Quantcast

Sony NSZ-GT1 (Internet TV Blu-ray disc player) shows SONY logo and then a blank scree

Discussion in 'Google TV Major Issues' started by shri, Jul 5, 2011.

  1. shri

    shri New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Sony device was working fine. Now when I start it up, it shows the Sony logo, and then TV screen becomes blank. I have left the device on for two days in case an update was underway, but its still the same. I have seen this behavior in the past too and the issue resolves by itself after a few days. However, not being able to use the TV for a few days every few months is a major nuisance.

    I cannot even try a factory reset when this happens as the factory reset is done using the menus. But since the screen is blank, I cannot access the menu.

    I use the device in conjunction with a Dish DVR set-top box. I have now removed the Sony device out of the loop, and can was DISH programming by connecting it to the TV. So there is no problem with the Dish DVR or my TV.

    Is anyone else seeing this?

    Shri
     
  2. lucas710

    lucas710 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Camby IN---------------------------Sony 40" GTV
    Do a Factory Data Reset. If this does not fix your problem then take it back and get a new unit. No one should ever have to go through what you are with any electronic.

    Keep us posted
     
  3. shri

    shri New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How do I do a factory reset? Like I mentioned, I believe a reset is done by going to Settings, but I cannot even do that as I just get a blank screen. I do not see any way to do a hardware reset on the device.
     
  4. trallyus

    trallyus Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Pressing FN+1 should bring up the settings for you - Check to make sure your not tuned to a channel that is broadcasting dead air by pressing your remote buttons channel up and down. etc.
     
  5. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,605
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Do you use a router to connect to the internet? I would check all your internet connections and make sure that your internet connection is working properly (as a precautionary measure). Can you connect and use another internet device from that same source as your Sony is connected to? Also make sure that in your set-up menu your Google TV is set for the proper internet source (ethernet or wireless).
     
  6. rob71917

    rob71917 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my is doing the same thing the data reset did not fix it whats next
     
  7. trallyus

    trallyus Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    You could try unplugging it and see if the blank screen is caused by overheating. Let it unplugged for a day and plug it back in and see if that fixes it. I assume you both have the device where it gets lots of air and is not in a confined cabinet without much air flow. Also I assume your not in a house where it gets really hot and there is no way to cool it down.

    If that fails your best bet would be to call the manufacturer or email them for support.

    Click the search button on your controller as well and see if your on youtube as some folks are getting blank screens while on youtube due to the flash messing up with hardware acceleration.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2011
  8. dlrich00

    dlrich00 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just had the same issue starting tonight. Was there any resolution?
     
  9. andrewdoan

    andrewdoan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need help, please. My Sony GTV that I just bought will not decode DD. DTS, DTS Master. The Sony GTV does only 5.1 PMC.

    I haven't set up the Wifi internet yet and I started out with some Bluray movies via HDMI out from the Sony GTV to my Pio SC05.

    What's missing? I was told the Sony GTV will decode DD, DTS, DTS Master. Was I wrong?
     
  10. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    It is decoding Dolby, otherwise you wouldn't hear any sound from any Dolby Audio source. It doesn't bitstream Dolby Digital though, it decodes the Dolby stream and transcodes it into 7.1 Pulse Code Modulation (PCM) stream out through HDMI. It is matching the available Dolby channels to the appropriate channel.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
factory reset nsz gt1
,
gtv sony internet tv nsz-gt1
,
how to reset nsz gt1 blue ray
,
how to reset sony tv nsz-gt1
,

nsz-gt1 internet tv box logo shows then black screen

,
sony google tv nsz-gt1 factory reset
,
sony internet tv nsz-gt 1 not giving display after sony logo
,

sony nsz-gt1 blank screen

,
what to do when didh tv becomes blank
,
when booting up the sony logo displays but disappears on my sony blu ray player