Quantcast

Sony NSZ-GS7 Remote with Microphone Unresponsive

Discussion in 'Google TV Help' started by SchmittyThePirate, May 16, 2013.

  1. SchmittyThePirate

    SchmittyThePirate New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyone else had trouble with the new Sony remote? It works for a bit, but then stops recognizing voice. I'm able to fix it by rebooting the Google TV, but it's a real pain.
     
  2. Carlszone

    Carlszone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    Hi Schmitty

    Can you be more precise? What exactly is happening when you use the voice search. Mine is working fine altho, I prefer using my Logitech kb. When you say unresponsive, is the remote not responding at all? Or just not recognizing the command or search function? Are you able to see the 'Speak Now' msg on yer TV?

    Thanks

    Carl
     
  3. SchmittyThePirate

    SchmittyThePirate New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Carl,

    Thanks for responding. To be more specific, when I press the microphone button on the remote, sometimes the TV says, "I didn't hear you," or something to that effect. It doesn't give me a chance to say anything.
     
  4. SchmittyThePirate

    SchmittyThePirate New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any suggestions?
     
  5. Carlszone

    Carlszone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    Hi

    Mine is still working. Try going closer to the device to see if the distance might be the problem. And of course the obvious might be the batteries. I'm not sure if the IP Remote app controls the voice feature. Whatever App controls that feature ya may need to force close it. But I wouldn't clear cache if you can find it.

    Carl
     
  6. SchmittyThePirate

    SchmittyThePirate New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks again, Carl. I'm certain distance isn't the problem, and I ensured there was a direct line of sight between the microphone and Sony unit before testing the microphone button. No dice. I guess I'll sell it on eBay, then.
     
  7. Carlszone

    Carlszone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    Sorry to hear that. Ya might try calling Sony Support and see if you can get it replaced.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

nsz gs8 microphone