Quantcast

Sony Box and screen resolution?

Discussion in 'Sony Blu-Ray Set Top Box' started by jborello, Nov 28, 2011.

1. jborello

jborello New Member

Hey everyone-

I'm starting to learn more and more about this device thanks to this forum and the helpful frequenters. I recently started playing around with the browser, apps, etc., and one thing I've noticed is that the screen isn't "cropped" right. The browser and some apps run through the left and right of my screen essentially chopping off information and pictures from either side of the screen. I've adjusted the screen resolution and went through the system restart that it prompts but the problem remains persistent. I've attached a couple examples from either corner of a facebook screen where it cuts off the share button and photo buttons.

$IMG_0638.jpg $IMG_0639.jpg
    Thanks.
    JB

2. eferz

eferz Well-Known Member

It looks the you've over zoomed those pages. Try holding down the Zoom button and swiping the Optical Finger Sensor towards you to decrease it.

• Like Like x 2
  3. jborello

jborello New Member

Thanks again for the prompt response eferz. Zooming back out actually makes it more pronounced. It's not just browser and apps either. It also cuts off the bottom left corner of the home screen when editing widgets.

On a side note, I used your advice for the surround sound problem and I can get volume through the speakers now, but I just have to physically turn the receiver on and off. Very livable problem.

• Like Like x 2
  4. eferz

eferz Well-Known Member

Have you tried adjusting the GTV Settings > Picture & sound > Picture size control panel? Also, what is the make and model of your television? You're television might be set to arbitrarily upscale the HDMI input, or orbital shifting to prevent plasma burn-ins. Since the Google TV devices have a static resolution, you may have to turn those settings off.

5. jborello

jborello New Member