Quantcast

Some Problems Setting Up My Costar (Remote and DirecTV Box)

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by coisty, Dec 20, 2012.

  1. coisty

    coisty New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had quite a few problems with the Co-Star remote and it's driving me nuts and I could sure use some help. When the front part of the remote (side with the trackpad) works, then the keys on the back don't work. When the keys on the back work, then the keys on the front won't work. I can't get them to both work and I've yet to get any response from the trackpad. I've tried putting the remote back to IR by Q = spacebar but it doesn't fix my problem.

    The other problem I'm having is I can't get my Co-Star to work with my DirecTV HR21. I've gone through every single setup option and remote codes and nothing works. I know the remote code for my HR21 is either 00001 or 00003 but when I try to enter these manually, the input only allows 4 digits so I can't do it.

    This is really frustrating and I'm thinking about taking it back.

    Any suggestions, tips, etc?

    Thank you.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Slow your roll don't panic, go here take your time do some reading http://www.googletvforum.org/forum/...io-co-star-reviews-your-hands-experience.html .... Do you have all the latest firmware updates on your new Co-Star ....? I will search for your remote 4 digit codes, get back with me now ...
     
  3. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here are some remote 4 digit codes for you to test on your HR21 0622, 0632, 0629, 0621, 0623, 0576, 0586, 0616, 0613, 0630, 0634, 0636, 0638, 0641, 0652, 0653, 0657, 0659, 0607, 0619, 0641 ...



    *These are hot codes 1377, 0981, 9111 ....
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2012
  4. LeadingMan

    LeadingMan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The remote is designed that way so you don't inadvertently hit a key on the side facing down.

    If the touchpad isn't working, it sounds like either you aren't paired (still in IR mode) or the remote is defective. The Q=space resets the remote back to IR so it needs to be re-paired.Check under Devices->BlueTooth to see if you're paired. If not, delete the current remote listed and then follow the instructions to pair.

    I have HR24 and it works great. The HR21 is listed in my drop down, I see there is also HR21-100 and -200. Check you STB again to see if it is a -100 or -200 model and try those (try them anyway if the HR21 alone isn't working)?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. coisty

    coisty New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried every single one of the remote codes and, unfortunately, I still can't get it to work. I have a HR21100 but I also tried the HR21 and the HR21200 to no avail. I have also tried setting it up as a DVR and as a cable/satellite set top box. I have the 3.5 firmware as of last night.

    Regarding the remote instructions, it's definitely paired as a Bluetooth device because 1) I can see it as a paired device and 2) The remote works when I'm out of the room. Unfortunately, I'm still having the same problems where only one side of the remote works. If I start typing on the keypad, the top part of the remote stops working. The only way to get it operational again is to remove the batteries. Once I do this, the top part works again.

    I'm stumped and frustrated because I'm dying to use this to its full potential
     
  6. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    More remote codes
    0575
    0654 0647 0655 0628
    0577 0578 0579
    0560 0561
    0561
    0562 0574 0587
    0620
    [0655] [0647] 0628 0612 0654 0588 0589 0590
    0588 0589 0590 0654
    0568 0582
    0628
    [0655] [0647] 0628 0612 0654 0588 0589 0590
    0654 0647 0655 0628
    0569 0555 0556 0557 0558 0559
    0591 0592
    0636 0649 0637 0622 0653 0650 0651 0652
    0595
    0648 0640 0645 0564 0565 0566 0593 [0627] [0642] [0643] [0644]
    0554
    0610
    0638 0629 0630 0632 0641 0607
    [0632] [0638] [0629] [0630] 0641 0621 0607 0580
    0628 0612
    0598
    0599
    0576 0612 0639
    0600
    0641 0632 0638 0629 0630 0607
    0648 0618
    0601
    0614 0615 0646
    0584 1048
    0626 0586 0596
    0627 0640
    0576 0612 0621 0629 0630 0632 0638 0641 0639 0607
    0576 0612 0639
    0604
    0563
    0636 0637 0650 0653 0651 0652
    0636 0649 0637 0622 0658 0653 0650 0651 0652 0098
    0567 0603
    0594 0583 0613 0616 0619
    0604
    0614 0615 0646
    0561
    0623 0657 0659 0585 0602
    0640 0645 0627
    0633
    0608
    0568 0570 0571
    0609
    0581
    0641 0632 0638 0629 0630 0607 0572 0624 0625 0631
    0653 0659
    0633 0573 0611
    0597
    0574
    0612 0585
    0617 0634 0656 0595 0646 0562 0574 0587 0635
     
  7. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You are correct, maybe he is not pairing it correctly, if you see the HR21-100 on the drop menu ...
     
  8. coisty

    coisty New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Spent an hour on the phone with Vizio tech support and they confirmed that the remote is faulty. They're sending me a new one so I'll give it one more try when the new remote arrives.
     
  9. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good news ...!
     
  10. magickalmike

    magickalmike New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, NY
    I'm going to piggy-back on this thread to mention that I too have been unable to link my DVR cable box with my Co-Star. I have a Samsung SMT-H3090 with Time Warner Cable & no one seems willing to help me with codes (not Vizio, Samsung, or Time Warner). I also cant seem to find usable codes via a general Google search. Does anyone have access to or know where I can get some codes to try & marry my DVR cable box to my Co-Star? I am fiending for full usability of my Co-Star!
     
  11. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here are some Remote codes that might work .... Try 1877 0877 0477 0008 0017


    0000 004E 0000 0018 00B2 00B2 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 07E2



    0000 004E 0000 0018 00B2 00B2 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 0085 002C 002C 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 0085 002C 002C 002C 0085 002C 07E2
     
  12. gphunk

    gphunk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where are you finding these codes? I too am having issues pairing but in my case a 7yr old Sony receiver. The only codes I can find are 3 digits which the Costar won't accept. Any help is appreciated. Thank you!


     
  13. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would need to know the name of your Sony receiver and model including numbers ....
     
  14. gphunk

    gphunk New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    My Sony Receiver is a Sony STR-K85OP

    I also cannot pair my Dish Duo VIP722k DVR.

    I have spent HOURS on the phone with both Dish and Vizio techs and no one can seem to give me the 4 digit code I need to pair this thing. If you could provide me these codes I would SOOO freaking grateful! Thank you!!! =)

    UPDATE: I figured out my receiver. I was going into "Amplifier" instead of using "Audio Receiver". It had the correct code in there.

    Which brings me to the Dish receiver which I still cannot pair with the Costar. I am going into "DVR" entering "Dish Network" as the brand, and then selecting "Duo VIP722k" as the model. I have tried going into "Cable Box" as well with no avail either. If anyone has had success going an alternate route I would love to hear how you were successful. Thank you!
     
  15. magickalmike

    magickalmike New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, NY
    Please forgive my ignorance, Wisdom, but none of those top 5 codes that you suggested work & many of the others are repeats of one another, many of which include letters (& the Co-Star doesn't let me enter letters, only numbers). Is there something that I'm doing wrong?
     
  16. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry about that, just try the 4 numbers codes, you never know, it just might work ...


    0000 0048 0001 0011 0018 0162 0018 00A5 0018 005E 0018 00A5 0018 005E 0018 00A5 0018 00A5 0018 00A5 0018 00A5 0018 00A5 0018 00A5 0018 00A5 0018 00A5 0018 00A5 0018 00A5 0018 00A5 0018 00A5 0018 0162

    Guide RTI

    0000 0048 0001 0011 0017 0164 0017 00A1 0017 0061 0017 00A1 0017 0061 0017 00A1 0017 00A1 0017 00A1 0017 00A1 0017 00A1 0017 00A1 0017 00A1 0017 00A1 0017 00A1 0017 00A1 0017 00A1 0017 00A1 0017 0164
     
  17. magickalmike

    magickalmike New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, NY
    My Co-Star just got the update to GTV v3, & I was REALLY hoping it would add some more codesets to let me link my Samsung SMT-H3090 to it, but sadly I still have yet to figure out how to work my DVR cable box with my Co-Star. I've tried all the codesets that you've offered me, Wisdom, as well as others that I've just Google searched for, but sadly I'm still unable to get the full experience of GTV. :-(
     
  18. DrIronTeeth

    DrIronTeeth New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I also cannot program my remote to work with my directv sat/dvr box(directv, RCA HR22-100). It's set up for rf, none of the codes work and I can't find any? Can anyone help me find them? Please? New costar is dishearteningly less useful than I hoped without it.
     
  19. edcoke

    edcoke New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having this same trouble with Visio Costar and a Directv hr44500. I've tried every built-in code I can find for both cable/satellite box and DVR. HR44*, HR34* and HR24*. The DVR option does not list the HR44500 in the drop-down so I wonder if the codes for it are built out yet. I checked my CoStar firmware and it is current. I have also used both RF and IR remotes for the Directv box. I have also tried to delete and re-pair the costar remote.

    I can use the Costar and the DirecTv boxes together but have to have 3 remotes to do it. Would like to slim down to 1 or 2 at most. Any suggestions?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

4 digit remote code for vizio co star

,
android tv box remote issues
,
costar vizio four digit code direct tv
,
directv remote for hr21 code 00001
,
hr44-500 rti
,
unable to program remote to operate directv hd dvr hr22-100
,

vizio co star remote codes

,
vizio co star remote pairing
,
vizio co-star q - spacebar
,

what is the 4 digit code for directv hr24