Quantcast

Some Logitech Revue Boxes Shipped with 'Corrupted Firmware'

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by CatfishRivers, Dec 26, 2011.

  1. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Some Logitech Revue Google TV boxes shipped with 'corrupted firmware' | The Verge (click for full article)

    "f you received a Logitech Revue Google TV set top box for the holidays and it's not working, it may not be a result of your inability to get through the complicated set up process.


    Reports that the box is failing out on step seven of eleven, when attempting to contact Logitech's EULA server, apparently are a result of corrupted firmware, not overloaded servers. On the company's forums, Logitech Senior Product Manager Peter McColgan responded to multiple reports with the following:


    There appears to be corrupted firmware on some of the recently manufactured Revues which is causing the Authentication error. There is nothing that you can do to fix this and nothing we can do except to replace your Revue via the RMA process. You always have the option of returning to the retailer and exchanging for another Revue or getting a refund. We believe that only a relatively small % of recently manufactured Revues are affected


    In another post, McColgan took a stab at listing the range of MAC addresses that may exhibit the issue. Unfortunately, there's no fix for the issue except to get your boxed exchanged at your retailer or directly from Logitech. The company is no stranger to dealing with returned Revue boxes, but that doesn't mean the issue isn't a major hassle for affected consumers. Like it or not (we're guessing "not"), it looks like the Revue is going to continue to cost Logitech "dearly" for a little while longer."
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
  2. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Apparently there are two separate issues causing the current problems with the Revue set-up process. 1) Overloaded Logitech Servers and/or 2) the corrupted firmware in some Logitech Revue boxes. If you are having trouble getting your Logitech Revue set-up - I suggest you read the threads related to this issue in the official Logitech forums here:

    Revue - Logitech Forums
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2011
  3. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I thought Logitech had stopped manufacturing the Revue some time ago but "recently manufactured" is a vague statement and I would be curious to know the manufacturing date of the defective Revues.
     

Share This Page