Quantcast

Skipr - First Android TV Box With Cable TV Pass-Through

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by guest, Apr 5, 2015.

  1. guest

    guest Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
  2. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    A Kickstarter project and 1GB RAM, move along, this isn't the box you are looking for.
     
  3. guest

    guest Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2012
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    They're also developing an ad-skipping app. Don't those already exist? A product called Ad Blocker comes to mind, but that's not the same as commercial-skipping on TV.
     
  4. thedude

    thedude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Thank God! I have been eagerly awaiting these. Hopefully we'll see one from Sony soon.

    I agree that 1GB may not cut it since 5.1 turns my old 2012 Nexus 7 into a dog. Anything would be better than the 256MB I have now on my Revue though. That thing basically is constantly restarting apps that run out of memory...

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
     
  5. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    The Logitech Revue also has 1GB RAM and that is the reason I believe 2GB RAM is needed for these boxes.
     
  6. thedude

    thedude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I don't believe that's accurate. When I am viewing the apps that are running it shows used vs available memory and I only see 256.

    Are you sure you're not thinking of the storage?

    Edit:

    I just looked at the iFixit teardown. The onboard flash and ram are both 1GB. I'm wondering if I have failed hardware. The soldered DRAM is 8x... Maybe only two of mine are functioning?

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2015
  7. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Onboard Revue flash storage is 4GB, RAM 1GB.
     
  8. thedude

    thedude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    This is what my Revue memory usage looks like...

    [​IMG]

    That totals to just 371MB. Obviously not showing the entire 1GB but also significantly less than what Lollipop has left over after system consumption.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
     
  9. thedude

    thedude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Yeah. I noticed there's another 1GB of flash there according to the teardown. Not sure how it's tied in, but clearly the app storage is using this 1GB resource. Only shows up as 520MB.

    [​IMG]

    This is what my RAM consumption looks like on my Nexus 7 running 5.1.

    [​IMG]
     
  10. thedude

    thedude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    8
    I downloaded Smartbooster. Small improvement. Reports ram differently but storage the same...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    After "boost" it briefly kicks up the free memory into the 220MB range but that rapidly drops to under 200.



    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
     
  11. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I have been using a RAM booster with Google TV for years, very helpful in my opinion. I don't have a Revue connected now but I can usually get about 300MB RAM free after closing apps wtih the Google TV models I am using.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
android tv with cable passthrough
,

skipr android tv