Quantcast

Silverlight Player

Discussion in 'Google TV Feature Wish Lists' started by mjvdv, Aug 21, 2011.

1. mjvdv

mjvdv New Member

I just purchased the new Logitech Revue. I used to have a boxee.

I bought the Revue because it came with Google tv and I thought that this would make it so it's able to watch more video than the boxee is able to. I bought them both so I can watch news programs from Europe as that's where I'm from.

I'm actually quite shocked that there isn't a Silverlight app or plug in to install. I mean this is google for crying out loud, not some low budget start up. Very disappointing to say the least.

There is a plug in called Moonlight but that won't install for some reason. Also, I read that Skyfire might be able to play these things but I'm not sure as I'm a bit of a tech-tard.

So, seriously google, get on it. There is no reason why this shouldn't have been taken care of long ago.

2. eferz

eferz Well-Known Member

Silverlight remains the intellectual property of Microsoft. Google would not have the onus nor the right to be able port Silverlight to Android much less Google TV. Microsoft didn't even port it to Linux. Instead they worked with Novell to port an open-source implementation called Moonlight for Linux and Unix/X11 based operating systems.

I doubt that Microsoft has any initiative or incentive to port it to any other "mobile" platform other than Windows Mobile. Right now, Silverlight remains as a key distinction against Android and iOS devices. It is more likely that Moonlight will be ported by Novell before Microsoft even entertains the idea.

3. mjvdv

mjvdv New Member

Thanks for the quick response eferz.