Quantcast

short cuts

Discussion in 'Google TV General Discussion' started by kavaja, Nov 3, 2011.

  1. kavaja

    kavaja New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There use to a setting to make short cuts, but I cant find it, all I can find is clear short cuts. Does any one know how to set them up.
     
  2. shane.smith

    shane.smith New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same problem for me..even the old shortcuts aren't working anymore.
     
  3. futureboy

    futureboy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use the key that looks like a star on the keypad for shortcuts.

    Websites will be stored as bookmarks in chrome and channels will be saved into favorites and have an option to save them as a shortcut in all apps.
     
  4. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Yes, you can just use the long key press on the respective bookmark. It will bring up a context menu for its options.
     
  5. gtv_brown

    gtv_brown New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mountain View, CA
    See the section about bookmarks/shortcuts:

    Exploring Google TV - Google TV Help
     
  6. kavaja

    kavaja New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am not trying to create short cuts for web sites, but for my apps, like it was before
     
  7. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Are you talking about the Keyboard Shortcuts for Application? If you're referring the [Search]+[A-Z, 0-9] combinations then I believe that was not included with this version. One of my biggest complaints about this version is that they seemed to have used the Phone/Tablet interface and ripped out all of the handy keyboard shortcuts and customizations which made using a keyboard with Android a friendly user experience.
     
  8. jcstarr

    jcstarr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I'm quite aggravated that I lost my app shortcuts! Those shortcuts were very convenient!
     
  9. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Not being able to use [Ctrl]+[Enter] in the search bar to go directly to a website just chaps my hide.
     
  10. Ironman

    Ironman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't for the life of me figure out how to add a "bookmark" to the home menu for Input 4 (Sony)....the old bookmark used to work great....now when you follow the instructions, the only option is to add a TV channel to the home screen.....GRRRRRRR...... I should have cancelled the 2.0 update!
     
  11. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    You can't add bookmarks to the Home Bar. You can only exchange the apps from the All Apps drawer with the ones that you don't use on the bar.

    Now when you're in Live TV those bookmarks are now called "Favorite Channels" which are initiated by either the GTV Menu (four vertical lines) or the GTV Bookmark (star symbol) button.
     
  12. Ironman

    Ironman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    understood....that's why the Bookmark was in quotes...... The old home screen allowed a shortcut to any/each of the four video inputs on the Sony TV. Now the 2.0 home screen won't allow shortcuts to anything other than a channel or an app. Seems odd that an app would be required to switch to a DVD player connected to the TV...... CLUNKY...... The GTV knows what input it is on....why it brings up the same tv channel lineup to select the item to favorite or add to the home screen for all inputs makes no sense.....!!!
     
  13. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Wait, wha... Why do you have to use an app or bookmark at all? Why don't you just use the input button on the remote?
     
  14. Ironman

    Ironman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Uh.....the same reason I don't want to have to manually enter digits for a "favorite" channel. My kids knew how to go "home" and select a bookmark. Simple. Now....there's one sequence for TV. a different sequence for inputs....etc. stupid. Sorry this is too complex for you.
     
  15. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    It is not complex at all. I just wanted to understand the reasoning for not using the physical button remote. Axiomatically, if they're intelligent enough to understand the process of pushing the "GTV Home" button and selecting the an appropriate bookmark, then expecting them to press the "INPUT" button and selecting the correct input wouldn't be a far reach for them. I apologize if I have misunderstood the situation.

    I also don't understand how using the INPUT button being any different to choose the Built-in tuner or an HDMI input because it is the same. I can entertain that the fact which by the "Live TV" app or "TV" button on the remote brings up the user selected default input whether it is the Built-in Tuner or any one of four the HDMI inputs.
     
  16. nerdkill

    nerdkill New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So is it official that there is no way to do shortcuts? I would like to use the tv & movies app more, but it's annoying that it's 4 clicks away. I want to make a shortcut for it, but it looks like that is no longer possible?
     
  17. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    It is only two clicks away (GTV Home then mouse click), if you place it on the application dock of the Home launch bar or place it in the area above with a widget, like Multicon. But, yes there currently isn't a way to create an keyboard shortcut to launch an application.
     

Share This Page