Quantcast

Revue

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by keithppereira1977, Aug 11, 2011.

  1. keithppereira1977

    keithppereira1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a cable box that does not have HDMI.How can i use it for google TV? is there any adaptor that i can use?
    thanks
     
  2. DefenderBob

    DefenderBob New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What outputs does the cable box have?
     
  3. surprisinguy

    surprisinguy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Take your box back to the cable company and swap it for one that does, or call them to come replace it.
     
  4. keithppereira1977

    keithppereira1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's an xfinity model DCI105COM1....its the one with Comcast cable.its got cable in,to tv,IR in and power....
     
  5. keithppereira1977

    keithppereira1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is that the only option...wouldn't Comcast charge me for the change.I just got it a week ago.
     
  6. keithppereira1977

    keithppereira1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh yes ..Comcast says 17 dollars a month extra for upgrade!!!....lot of money!!!Is there any way I can do with the present one........or maybe bypass it???
     
  7. Whitefang

    Whitefang New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The video posted in this thread does not mention printer capability. For some of us who don't own a computer, this would be a much desired app.
     
  8. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Interesting, I don't see to any videos within this thread. In any case, perhaps you may be interested in taking a look at Google's Cloud Print. Getting Started with Google Cloud Print
     
  9. Whitefang

    Whitefang New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The video, "Honeycomb for Google TV Software Walkthrough" was posted by you in the thread, "honeycomb". I mistakenly thought it was posted in this "revue" thread. Its just a matter of buying the HP Cloud Ready Printer. I guess this means there will be no app for a printer. Thanx
     
  10. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    It doesn't necessarily mean that there won't be a stand-alone app for printing. It just means it won't be necessary.
     
  11. keithppereira1977

    keithppereira1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone with a way out for me???!!!

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
     
  12. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    If Comcast supports customer owned cable cable equipment, then you can buy your own Cable Card compatible DVR or Tuner then rent a cable card from them instead of the HDMI-less STB.
     
  13. keithppereira1977

    keithppereira1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh ....I am compelled to use Comcast cable as its supposedly an agreement between my building and Comcast.in fact its a part of the rental....
     
  14. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I'm not saying get rid of the Comcast service. Check out their FAQ, "How much will I be charged to use a CableCARD?". I'm not sure how much the rental fees for your current cable box, but renting a CableCard should be less expensive. The only caveat is that you'd have to buy your own CableCard capable DVR or Tuner. Tivos are pretty popular replacements to cable company supplied equipment.
     
  15. keithppereira1977

    keithppereira1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks eferz..that sounds like an option...ill get in touch with Comcast and see what options I have!!!
     
  16. keithppereira1977

    keithppereira1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I got in touch with Comcast via live chat.they said the same thing as eferz...to get a dvr like tivo and use their cable card...the downside is you cannot use video on demand.they also said the better option is getting a hdmi compatible box.contrary to what was told me ,they said they would swap it for an addition 8 $ per month and not 17.seems,like a better deal as I hear that the cable card is not hassle free....

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
     
  17. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    At least, now, you fully understand your options.
     
  18. DefenderBob

    DefenderBob New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gawd I hate Comcast..... Good luck man.
     
  19. keithppereira1977

    keithppereira1977 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Comcast service was really good..they exchanged my cable box for a new hdmi compatible box for a small amount...the customer service as well as service centre was excellent...awaiting my Revue which I ordered online at amazon....exciting!!!

    Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk
     
  20. surprisinguy

    surprisinguy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey that's great... I kinda figured they probably would. They pretty much want everyone on the same boxes anyway and I'm sure yours without the hdmi was an old box.
     

Share This Page