Quantcast

Revue Randomly Turning On Sound Bar Through TV -Connected By HDMI-Not IR

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by popeye123, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. popeye123

    popeye123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have Sony TV and Sony sound bar. When I turn on TV it Turns on the Sound Bar-through setting in TV. It turns it off when shutting down. Now randomly the TV does not turn on the Sony Sound bar and then plays through TV. It is connected with HDMI and Sonys TV will automatically turn on the Sound Bar. Been working with Sony and it is not Sony TV or Sound Bar.
    I disconnected the Revue and works 100% of the time. When Revue connected it works sometimes.
    I have had the Revue working flawlessly for a couple of months. This started 3 weeks ago-before the update.


    Any ideas what the problem might be or any solutions?


     
  2. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    See troubleshooting & IR Tips here --> http://www.googletvforum.org/forum/...e-gtv2-0-ui-pq-netflix-apps-quick-review.html


    Good Luck!
     
  3. popeye123

    popeye123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the reply and info-great stuff, but I can not find the solution

    I get sound but the problem is is that Sometimes it can not find the AVR and then switches to TV speakers. The sound works, but I want to make sure every time when I turn on the TV that the TV turns on the AVR, that is the way it is supposed to do,
    It worked before for over a moth and randomly does not turn on the AVR(sony Sound Bar) when turning on TV

    Thanks!
     
  4. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    There are two ways (options) to do this,

    1. Revue will turn TV "ON" (via IR) then TV will turn AVR "ON" (via HDMI)
    2. Revue will turn TV & AVR "ON" (via IR) - No "HDMI Control"

    For option #1
    if TV comes ON but AVR (sometimes not) - remove AVR setting from Revue (if any) by going to Settings > TV& AV Receiver > AV Receiver.


    For Option #2,

    • Turn OFF "HDMI Control" on TV & AVR - to avoid double On/Off Power toggle.
    • Setup the AVR in Revue - by going to Settings > TV& AV Receiver > AV Receiver and set it as generic (if no listing) or select any model, all you need is to teach IR Power ON/Off codes from AVR Remote- keep your AVR (Sound Bar) remote control handy.
    • You may use IR Blasters if needed.

    Option #1 is not recommended - removing AVR Component from Revue will disable [volume +/-] key on Revue for AVR.

    Option #2 is recommended - make sure to Turn OFF "HDMI Control" on TV & AVR - to avoid double On/Off Power (conflict).


    See IR Tips here --> http://www.googletvforum.org/forum/...e-gtv2-0-ui-pq-netflix-apps-quick-review.html


    Good luck!
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2011
  5. popeye123

    popeye123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Wow-Option #2 might be it-but need some advice!
    I need to have the TV switch on the AVR-which it does the way it is
    set up. If I disconnect the Revue and do it through the Tivo-it works
    100% of the time. When working with Sony and Logitech they mentioned
    something might be switching it on twice and therefore shutting it
    off. I have to connect through HDMI to make the TV turn on the AVR-is
    there a setting on the revue that I can make sure it is not
    "double"powering and still connect HDMI?
    Hopefully this makes sense!

    Thanks!!!!
     
  6. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Btw, both options #1&#2 will require HDMI Connections the way have it.


    Now you getting the idea, the issue is from double (on/off) signal - one from TV to AVR and the second from Revue. (as I mentioned before - conflict)


    Well, the way you want it is Option #1 - not recommended because you won't be able to change the volume or input from revue keyboard to control the AVR speakers.(unless you're using a remote control )

    Anyhow, that maybe easy to try - go to Settings > TV& AV Receiver > AV Receiver >Remove AV Receiver - Yes



    Try that.

    Good Luck!
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2011
  7. popeye123

    popeye123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did remove the reciever. I will try #1
    Thanks.
     
  8. popeye123

    popeye123 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2011
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well read #1 and did that a long time ago.
    Could it be a defective Revue? Anyone else have a set up like me?

    It drives me nuts because the sound out of TV is terrible. If it does not turn on I have to go through many steps to change from TV speakers to Audio System. Impossible to go through this-Sony here I come????
     
  9. revue5

    revue5 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,099
    Likes Received:
    206
    Trophy Points:
    63

    That's why I recommended option #2,


    • From Sony TV menu settings turn off "Control for HDMI" by going to TV Home >Settings > Channels & Inputs > HDMI Settings > Control for HDMI > OFF.
    • Reboot Revue, Press Ctrl + Alt + DEL
    • From Revue Setup the AV Receiver - by going to Settings > TV& AV Receiver > AV Receiver and set it

    (You may use IR Blasters if needed)



    Good Luck!
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

soundbar turning on randomly