Quantcast

revue cannot "see" serviio

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by svtfmook, Aug 16, 2011.

1. svtfmook

svtfmook New Member

i have no networking knowledge what so ever. in fact, my network knowledge pretty much covers the extremely difficult task of "plugging ethernet cable into router".

anyhow, i managed to get twonky manager running on my pc, the revue sees it, everything works great.

however, it's not a free program, and before i drop $20, i want to try others. didn't like tversity, mezzmo couldn't display any of the files that were in the shared folders and serviio will not even show up in my list of sources on the revue.

i checked windows firewall and nothing for serviio is blocked. i can see the TM player for twonky when in the serviio console, and serviio shows up in twonky's console, but serviio does not show up in the revue's sources.

am i missing a step with serviio? i pretty much installed it, added the folders i wanted to share, and that was it.

2. floodx

floodx New Member

make sure you bind the servers ip address in the monitor app - below the section where you select the profiles. I missed that step...worked after I put the server's DHCP address in that box

3. DefenderBob

DefenderBob New Member

PlayOn will let you have a 2 week trial as well.

4. surprisinguy

surprisinguy New Member

Why dont you like tversity? It works really well and plays/streams videos to the Revue that the Revue doesnt play natively.

5. svtfmook

svtfmook New Member

i couldn't get it to transcode and it didn't show the box art in the media player like twonky does. i'm trying to find a free media server that will. so far, only twonky can, but i don't want to pay $20 for it lol cheap-o.

i'm going to throw a psu in an older machine that i have and try out running ubuntu and various servers on that too.