Quantcast

Recommended file format for Blu-ray rips on Sony set top box?

Discussion in 'Sony Blu-Ray Set Top Box' started by frazwr01, Dec 6, 2011.

1. frazwr01

frazwr01 New Member

Hi All -- I'm new to Google TV and I'd like to rip my blu-ray collection and then transfer the files to a Fat 32-formatted external drive, which I'll plug into a usb port on the back of my google tv. From reading some other forum posts, I see that my box should play the blu-ray file format, since it contains "value addition software" that would support playback. I'd be using Anydvd HD to rip (and remove the DRM from) my blu-rays and was hoping to not need to convert the ripped discs after this to another video format (if I do need to convert, I suppose I'd use Handbrake -- unless someone can recommend a better option).

I'm at my computer at work right now, so not at home to check, but I recall that when I've ripped entire blu-rays in the past, the result is a bunch of folders containing various files (obviously). The video files themselves are located in the "Stream" folder and have an .mts or .m2ts file extension. Obviously the biggest file is usually the main movie file. So would it make sense to just copy this file to my external drive instead of the entire rip? I realize that I would lose the bluray menus and "extras" if I did that, but maybe those won't work on the sony box anyway. I'd rather not spend the time converting formats (to .mp4 for instance) and would also like to preserve the quality of the original encode.

One last potential issue is the audio format. I'm assuming that the .mts file will contain all the audio streams (Dolby TrueHD or DTS-HD and then also some sort of lower quality digital 5.1/7.1 format). Is this correct? If so, does anyone know if the box will default to the HD audio stream? I suppose I could confirm this by checking what my receiver says (the HDMI out from the google box passes through my receiver), but thought I'd ask just in case.