Quantcast

Potential GoogleTV buyer.....but will it work for me?

Discussion in 'Google TV General Discussion' started by DukeBroadway, May 27, 2011.

1. DukeBroadway

DukeBroadway New Member

Hi guys,

I have been trying to do some research but the answers tend to be very vague. I am in the process of dropping cable and going OTA. I have a channel master OTA DVR on the way. My tv is a toshiba 42h81, just old enough not to have HDMI. So here comes the questions.....

1. Knowing that my TV does not have HDMI, am I able to connect the Revue to the DVR then DVR to TV via component for viewing GTV.

2. I have heard mention of HDFury3, is there any other HDMI to component cable that works? If i needed the HDFury, I might as well get a new TV.

3. If I can successfully connect the Revue would I be able to access letmewatchthis.ch to view shows/movies?

Thanks!

2. galfert

galfert Active Member

1.) No it won't work that way.

2.) Yes the HDFury3 would work for your TV. I have one but not because my TV does not have HDMI (it does) but rather because my Slingbox only has Component inputs. So my Google TV output passes through an HDFury3 into the Slingbox and then to my AV Receiver and then to my TV and the picture quality is perfect. But you are right ...in your case you probably would be better off buying a new TV.

3.) No you can't watch video from that website on Google TV. That site provides videos via download and Google TV can't download anything from the web. Google TV can only stream video (Flash) from the web. The streaming that website offers requires xvid codecs and browser plugins that are supported. Google TV can also stream from your networked PC or DLNA server so if you first download the content from that site via a PC and then make it available on your network via DLNA then you'll be able to watch it.