Quantcast

[POLL] Do you experience high latency with the GTV remote?

Discussion in 'Sony's NSZ-GS8 / NSZ-GS7' started by runswithbacon, Aug 6, 2012.

?

Are you experience latency with the remote?

  1. Often

    2 vote(s)
    20.0%
  2. Often, but only with Cable or AV Receiver

    3 vote(s)
    30.0%
  3. Occasionally

    2 vote(s)
    20.0%
  4. Occasionally, but only with Cable or AV Receiver

    1 vote(s)
    10.0%
  5. Not at all

    2 vote(s)
    20.0%
  1. runswithbacon

    runswithbacon New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm getting some serious latency when controlling my cable and AV receiver with the GTV remote. However, I don't seem to be having that much of a delay otherwise.

    Is anyone experiencing this, or am I the only one?
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2012
  2. tinsnow

    tinsnow Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Yes. I do have a high latency and getting used to it. I press the volume button 5 times and after some latency i see volume going up 3-4 numbers. i have a friend who also faces this issue.
     
  3. anwarlucas

    anwarlucas New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same here, the REL03 update did lower the latency a bit, i can notice it by pressing home button, but everything else is the same... slow..
     
  4. chris24man

    chris24man New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do when I'm controlling my cable box through GTV. I don't get any lag controlling normal functions (YouTube, music, internet, etc.) though. I tried moving around the blaster but it didn't help. Any suggestions would be appreciated!
     
  5. chopper

    chopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    I would say those with a poor internet connection would notice this more. Also I wounder if poor latency could be improved with new batteries for some users.
     
  6. chopper

    chopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    For Set Top Box Lag try:

    All Apps, Settings, TV Source, then select your set top box, Adjust Delay and set it to the shortest delay time.

    If you experience probs with accuracy then play with increasing this delay until you get excellent results. Some set top boxes may play nicer with GTV than others.

    If your GTV box is a few years old it may be near end of life which could be a source of lag.

    Also adjusting the position of your STB and GTV so they can get stronger signals to one another will help as I think GTV sends a signal out which bounces off a wall and then hits your set top box to change a channel etc. If this doesn't work then using the IR blaster may be the way to go.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2012
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page