Quantcast

Plex for Google TV

Discussion in 'Google TV General Discussion' started by Hefe, Nov 2, 2011.

1. Hefe

Hefe New Member

I'm a Google TV newbie, (just got a Revue yesterday, but been reading and researching a long time) and one of the main things I want from the "one set top box to rule them all" is a media player that can handle all my NAS stored media files, and has a decent interface. I've never been impressed by the interface of most DLNA server/client combinations.

And then this morning, I read about Plex for Google TV.

I've been checking out the details, and if I'm reading it right, this just about makes me giddy! :)

Looks like I can install the Plex Media Server plugin on my unRaid NAS, and then when the update hits my Review, I can run the Plex client on Google TV. (And other Android devices too.)

Last edited: Nov 2, 2011
  2. CatfishRivers

CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

I have a question about the Google TV Plex App. I don't use a computer - thus I don't stream local files.

If I install Plex will it improve my WEB streaming (improved codec support)?

Without a computer will Plex still improve my GTV experience?

3. XYinSD

XYinSD New Member

I am wondering if Plex needs to install some sort of tracking file on your NAS in order to seamlessly access your data from there. I had a bad experience with a program called LiBox that my wife installed on her IPAD. It created a 1KB .libox file on every directory in my NAS and I had a hell of a time removing it. But I am excited about any GTV apps for music that will organize better, show album artwork, and be easier to access than the current Media Player for Sony GTV.

4. Maconsultant

Maconsultant Member

I have 2 8tb Nas's and have never had a problem with plex or Xbmc and was surprised to see it work in GTV 2.0..

5. eferz

eferz Well-Known Member

No.

No.