Quantcast

Plex Crashes when I launch it.

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by deadringer28, Aug 21, 2013.

  1. deadringer28

    deadringer28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Most of the time when I launch Plex (2.2.2.8) on my Co_star I get the error "Unexpected Error" A lot of the time Plex will still continue to load but some of the time I need to kill the process and a few times I have even had to pull the power in order to connect to my server.

    I also occasionally see Plex crash when I am not even using it.

    Has anyone else seen this?
     
  2. saeba

    saeba Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    That seems like a very old version of Plex. Plex for Google TV and Plex for Android on Play are listed at 3.1.4. Are you using latest and greatest?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. deadringer28

    deadringer28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    It is old. I am two small girls that are very used to the old version and would be lost if I updated but I am thinking I might not have a choice soon.
     
  4. saeba

    saeba Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    The new versions are so much better - more reliable, better user interface, better support for media, etc.... However, it is different and it does take time to re-learn how to use it.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. deadringer28

    deadringer28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Tonight I installed the new version and while it only crashed once it also looked really odd. When opening a channel all of the thumbnails were huge and cutoff. I am sure this is not how it is supposed to look. I ordered a Sony during the BB promo so maybe that device will handle the new version better.
     
  6. saeba

    saeba Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    28
    There are some settings to customize it for GTV -> Settings -> General -> Device Media Profile -> Media Profile -> Google TV and Settings -> General -> Application Layout -> TV

    Have you set these?
     
  7. deadringer28

    deadringer28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Saeba...Thanks for your replies. Yes this is set. I even tried the other layout to see if it would change anything and it didn't. The layout is strange anyway. Having Channels buried in the online folder instead of being the first thing you see is kinda weird to me. I like the original layout best. Wish they would bring it back as a choice.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

plex crash google tv

,
plex for android crashes
,
plex for google tv old version
,
plex freeze on launch
,
plex on google tv crash on loading
,

plex on sony android tv crashing

,
plex will not launch
,
vizio co star crashes