Quantcast

Plex and Surround Sound?

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by jmcgeejr, Aug 27, 2012.

  1. jmcgeejr

    jmcgeejr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So even with the latest update for the costar, I cannot get surround sound to play via plex, no matter what I select or dont select. It wants to always output 2 channel. This goes for media that is DTS, or DD encoded.
     
  2. RandomBlue

    RandomBlue New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, the Co-star still doesn't support DTS, not sure about DD. Does your receiver support AC3? If so, enable that option in Plex under advanced settings and make sure DTS is disabled. I believe that will cause your Plex server to transcode the audio to AC3. Make sure you're running the latest version of the Plex Media Server and Plex client.

    Also, you might need to go to Settings->Audio and change HDMI Audio Out to Auto on the Co-star.
     
  3. RandomBlue

    RandomBlue New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    FYI, if you get no audio when you make the changes in Plex that I suggested then that means the Co-star still doesn't support AC3 properly either. Another user claimed it does with the current update but others have said it doesn't. I haven't tested it myself since the update so I don't know.
     
  4. jmcgeejr

    jmcgeejr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the info, I will check those settings but I am 99% sure I have tried that, oh well back to the drawing board looking for that perfect plex device :), I think my next attempt may be the intel Nuc.
     
  5. RandomBlue

    RandomBlue New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Sony NSZ-GT1 Google TV blu-ray player works great for Plex. Their next version is due out this fall I believe, though it'll likely be priced $250-$299 like the old one was since the NSZ-GS7 is $200. The NSZ-GS7 might work well also but I haven't messed with it.

    I'm hoping Vizio can resolve these issues in the next couple of weeks or mine will be going back for a refund. They need to fix AC3 (and hopefully DTS) and the Tivo remote issues in order for me to keep the box.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
Chrome cast plex dts media server sound
,
dolby surround plex
,
plex android surround
,
plex dts
,
plex dts no sound
,
plex media server surround sound
,

plex surround sound

,
prevent plex to transcode dts audio
,
sony androidtv doesnt support ac3 dts plex
,
vizio plex surround