Quantcast

OTA Coax Input / Output with Co-Star

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by mgm1979, Oct 24, 2012.

  1. mgm1979

    mgm1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Officially gave satellite the boot, and running subscriptions of Hulu+, Netflix, and Amazon Prime to cover the majority of our TV needs...now I'm trying to figure out how to connect the OTA Antenna line into my setup so that I can still run the Co-Star + LiveTV at the same time.

    I've tried every configuration I can think of, but I always circle back to the same issue...no way to convert the Coax signal into an HDMI output...is there a trick I'm missing?
     
  2. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can get help here http://www.googletvforum.org/forum/vizio-co-star/6021-cable-cord-cutting-help.html ....
     
  3. mgm1979

    mgm1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    The following thread mentions that a device called: "KWorld External ATSC/Qam TV Box HDMI Edition (model# Sa295-Q DE) works with GTV:

    Using Coax, OTA HD With Revue. - Logitech Forums
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. mgm1979

    mgm1979 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh, that's brilliant! I'm not sure how I missed that in all my googling the last week, or so...I guess I was limiting my results by including co-star, maybe.

    Now I've got a decision to make - since this thing is almost $100, do I just splurge for the Tivo and gain DVR capability? I guess I'll read up some more on the whole Tivo solution.

    Thanks!
     
  6. cpaulg

    cpaulg New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not sure if this would work, or if the equipment even exists, but is there such a thing as a Blu Ray player with a tuner that has a coaxial input? Or how about an upscaling DVD player with a tuner and coaxial input. I think that would work as well as a Tivo, and be less expensive, since they both have HDMI outputs.
     
  7. mardukeme

    mardukeme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Not sure if they have hdmi a output, but what about those digital ota boxes that came out when the ota signal switched from analog to digital?

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
     
  8. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have been watching this thread, huh, you guys got me thinking about getting a Tivo Premiere box to and integrated it with the Co-Star .... This sounds good to me, a Comcast killer, just what I looking for too ....(lol)
     
  9. vedder012

    vedder012 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What happened to your boxee TV idea?
     
  10. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Google TV with TiVo is central to my cord cutting solution. I don't know I would call it a Comcast killer, Comcast Xfinity service was very good here the three years we had it but the Google TV/TiVo combination provides a lot of viewing options and is good enough that I don't miss cable much. We had both DirecTV and Comcast for a couple of years since I had a DirecTV commitment and we had an adult child living with us that wanted Comcast. My contract was fulfilled, we lived with Comcast for a period, the child moved out, we dropped Comcast in the fall of 2009 and my cord cutting solution evolved into what it is now. I haven't seen a DVR for OTA than is anything more than a joke compared to TiVo, Windows Media Center is a distant second and the others don't even come close to WMC. Still a good digital cable package or satellite TV package with a DVR is simpler and better in my opinion if you aren't adverse to the cost.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had to abandon the Boxee TV ideal because it gets to hot, my friend sent his Boxee TV back ... All I need is the majors networks, plus Google TV via the Co-Star, that will be my Comcast killer package ... Plus my Slingbox will also work with the Tivo Premiere ...!(lol)
     
  12. plac

    plac New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't like the idea of having to buy Co-Star and Tuner/DVR for every television.
    Just wait until the LAN Network models come out, where one setup will serve the entire house.
     
  13. plac

    plac New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0

    PS:
    Silicondust's HDHomerun broadcasts OTA (Air TV) + Cable/Satellite TV across your entire Lan network; where all computers and SmartTVs can tune-in to it. From there, PNP (picture in a picture) would be just a simple android app (may already exist).
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2013

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
android ota input
,
android tv box with coax
,
android tv box with coaxial input
,
android tv box with coxial input
,
android tv coaxial input
,

convert tivo ota to cable

,
ota coax input
,
ota coaxial input missing on tv
,
vizio co star analog cable