Quantcast

nsz-gs7 Primetime updated with Overlay Guide.

Discussion in 'Sony's NSZ-GS8 / NSZ-GS7' started by mardukeme, Nov 29, 2012.

  1. mardukeme

    mardukeme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    One of my sony nsz-gs7 boxes has the new Primetime Overlay Guide on it. Weird thing is my other sony nsz-gs7 does not have it yet. I didn't see any updates, or updated notifications it just appeared.

    Anyways regarding the overlay guide its sweet. It makes it so much easier to see whats on. Just hit the guide button and it pops up. To select your cable providers guide you just scroll up and select Channel Guide while in the Overlay Guide. This new google tv feature makes my uverse guide look archaic.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
     
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2012
  2. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I have two Logitech Revues, one received the last update almost a month before the second one did. I also own two NSZ-GT1 boxes although I didn't have both hooked up to notice anything about timing, but this sort of delay is very common. I think the update timing and notifications are unpredictable. It does appear if you want the update quickly, it will be delayed. The alleged tricks to force update have never been effective for me. You didn't know it was coming and therefore wasn't hoping it would happen, you got it immediately. Now you know it is coming, you are hoping your second box will get it but you will turn the TV on every day and look, nothing will happen until you forget about it, then bingo, you get it.
     
  3. googlethis

    googlethis New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm still waiting for our NSZ-GS7 to get the quick guide update.
     
  4. mardukeme

    mardukeme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I updated a image of the Guide Overlay to the original post to show how it looks on the Sony nsz-gs7.

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. djrobinn

    djrobinn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What's the firmware version on the player that shows you primetime? I checked mine, it is 3.2 but no Primetime :-(
     
  6. chopper

    chopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    So how does one bring up the overlay guide instead of the usual full screen version? Thanks in advance!
     
  7. mardukeme

    mardukeme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Mine is the same 3.2 build #: rel05_nszgs7_u2_1303

    Just press the Guide button on the remote control to open up the overlay.

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2012
  8. djrobinn

    djrobinn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That just brings up the cable box guide in my case...

    Sent from my S3 using Tapatalk HD
     
  9. mardukeme

    mardukeme Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Then you do not have the latest yet.You have to wait till it's rolled out to you.

    Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk 2
     
  10. jetrii

    jetrii New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is the update a system update or just an update for primetime? If it's the latter, could you extract the apk using a file manager and post it?
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. gfunk01

    gfunk01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Greg from Google TV team here. As long as you have updated to the v1.4.1 version of the app (easy way to tell: it's now called "PrimeTime" in home screen) then you have the version with the code. However we've been staging the rollout a bit slower than normal. We control it on the backend so hang tight. We'll move it up to 100% once we sort out a few more issues.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  12. jetrii

    jetrii New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the update. Primetime's guide is significantly better than Comcast's, and being able to access it while watching TV will make it that much better. Can't wait!
     
  13. djrobinn

    djrobinn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this provider-based or does everyone get it? I'm on Rogers cable in Toronto.

    Sent from my S3 using Tapatalk HD
     
  14. chopper

    chopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada

    That 2nd pic makes it look like your DVR recordings are showing up in Movie sheet format? If that is true how sweet is that!!!
     
  15. gfunk01

    gfunk01 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Everyone that has live TV working in PrimeTime will get it (e.g., GTVs with tuners, IR-blaster, or 2-way control with Dish full experience).

    But keep in mind that PrimeTime is only released in the US right now. No Canadian support as of now (and no ETA).
     
  16. chopper

    chopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Why USA only with no ETA? Is it a technical, regulatory or cable co issue? Is any progress being made on rolling this out in Canada? GTV without this functionality is second rate and I can't wait to get this coolness here as well. Do I need to call my cable co. daily to press this issue with technical support? Do I need to start a petition for the regulators?
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2012
  17. jonw747

    jonw747 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    That'd be very sweet, but it's probably just showing the channel guide with the usual progress bars showing how much of the program is over. The "DVR Menu" option isn't actually selected.
     
  18. chopper

    chopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada

    Dish Network users may get that functionality, hopefully someone who uses their GTV add on service will chime in on the DVR aspect.
     
  19. polardude1983

    polardude1983 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    $ImageUploadedByTapatalk1355242382.491792.jpg

    This is how my DVR shows have always appeared in PrimeTime with my Dish Network and the Sony NSZ-GT1. Is this what y'all are talking about?
     
  20. Lakedubvt

    Lakedubvt New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Updated my Primetime app but doesn't look like my box supports the quick guide yet :(

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 2
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

overlay for gs7