Quantcast

NSZ-GS7 and Dish

Discussion in 'Sony's NSZ-GS8 / NSZ-GS7' started by elusivemiss, Jul 3, 2013.

1. elusivemiss

elusivemiss New Member

Hello,

I am very new to Google TV and just picked up this device today. I love everything it can do so far...but I can't access my Dish receiver. It can be seen on the network, but doesn't work. I do not want to pay the $4 fee per month for integration. My box is upstairs, the Sony is downstairs and they are not connected via any cables. Do they have to be? I have been trying to get the Dish Anywhere app to work, but it won't play through Crome and the app itself won't work when I sideload it. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated - even if you tell me I'm poop out of luck, I'd be okay with it.

Thanks,
    Missy

2. CatfishRivers

CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

Make sure that your Dish receiver is connected to the internet.

An HDMI cable should go from the cable or satellite box to the "HDMI In" port of the Google TV device (if you're using a set top box). Another HDMI cable should go from the "HDMI Out" port on the Google TV device into your television. The HDMI ports should have a label that tells you whether they are "In" or "Out."

Plug in the ir blaster cables to the google tv and put the end of the cable near the dish receiver. When you set up your dish, you tell it that your using dish setup and then it will ask you to turn your channel with the remote and if nothing happens it tells you to press a certain combo to try another code or something like that. Some users have said they have the ir blaster cable taped to the top of the dish reciever above the power button and have no problem with setup.

Also you do not need the 4 dollar plan unless you want it as you just choose the limited mode when setting up your reciever.

Last edited: Jul 3, 2013
  3. elusivemiss

elusivemiss New Member