Quantcast

No audio output when playing media on NAS

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by void.pointer, Oct 4, 2012.

  1. void.pointer

    void.pointer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using GTVBox and also tried Play Point but I don't hear audio on any of the videos I try to play (video appears fine).

    Any way I can figure out what is causing this? If you need more details please let me know.
     
  2. mdvalenz

    mdvalenz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If the files have ac3 audio you won't get any sound. It should say on the bottom left when you start the movie.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. void.pointer

    void.pointer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sure enough, they all have DTS / AC3. What audio format do my videos need to have to work properly?

    I have been using this list as a reference:
    http://player.gtvbox.net/audio-video-formats

    Apparently AC3 has "pass-through" support, but not sure what that means.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  4. degsie

    degsie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Most people from other discussions are using Serviio on their PC's to transcode the audio to mp3 on the fly. Seems to work for them.

    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk 2
     
  5. mdvalenz

    mdvalenz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My tv plays ac3 files, but not with a passthrough. I have to open them from my tv menu for them to play. I have serviio to transcode just the audio and leave the video alone so those files play on the co-star.
     
  6. jonw747

    jonw747 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    63
    That means something further down in the chain would have to support and decode AC3. For instance, I have my GTV hooked up to my Denon receiver and it can decode AC3 as well as various other audio formats as long as my GTV passes it though.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

no sound on playpoint