Quantcast

New HC3.1 Debug update released (has root, fixes, and netflix)

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by MrAndroid, Sep 12, 2011.

  1. MrAndroid

    MrAndroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Helena, MT
    Zenofex has posted on GTVHacker.com that they have received a new leaked build of HC3.1 for the revue. This is a debug build, and it has root, Netflix, and would be considered an almost "complete" build. It does have it's caveats though, as the recovery menu is not working on it. Here's a link to the article:

    GTVhacker • View topic - Honeycomb 3.1 UserDebug Leaked!
     
  2. MrAndroid

    MrAndroid New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Helena, MT
    I've installed the update, and it runs GREAT! it's so awesome to have netflix back on my first Revue.
     
  3. tamanaco

    tamanaco New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice!... now we have two reports that indicate that the release of an update for the Revue might be "soon" approaching. (The definition of "soon" here is subjective). The Honeycomb 3.1 UserDebug leak and the announcement yesterday of the release of RC1 of the Logitech Media Server (LMS - still a little unstable) with a general release "targeted" for early October. LMS 7.7 rc1 - Squeezebox : Community : Forums
     
  4. RoyalKnight6190

    RoyalKnight6190 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This makes me very excited, read the entire thread at GTVHacker and it sounds cool, but I am just going to wait till the official HC3.1 drops. I am happy with my unit right now and dont see an advantage to upgrading to a beta, if it gave more access to root and the user via adb then maybe but with the restrictions then really doesnt do much. Still very cool, cant wait for HC.
     
  5. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Awesome! Glad they were able to get Netflix work. Though, I wonder if they used the new Netflix 1.4 app from the Android Market or did they steal the files from the current Revue directories.

    This is kinda scary though....

     
  6. galfert

    galfert Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    The way I understood what they said is that Netflix already came baked into this leak. I don't think they have done anything to it since the kernel and other system files are signed.
     
  7. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,605
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    This is great news. I have 2 questions 1) Does the update come with Flash 10.3?
    2) Will we be able to use an app such as Plex (for increased Codec support for streaming videos)?
     
  8. Cygnus

    Cygnus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does netflix app support 5.1 sound?
     
  9. ColmARocK

    ColmARocK New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello all, Is this new version bring some VPN configuration ?
    -Is hotmail works better (Instead of passing trough the calandar to access you inbox) ? (Im using gmail, but I like to chat with msn live).

    -Could we "save as" a file to an HD ?

    -Is there a way to copy\paster a link (Let say you want to copy a pdf file to paste the link and read it with googledoc without having to use a linkextractor website) ?

    -Is Chrome now remember multiple passwords for different user (On FB, I always have to input my pw when I change account).

    -If someone planed to release a video, show us how fast it browse instead of filming 15 minutes of installation. (Go on google image and do some search).

    Thanks
     
  10. danger-rat

    danger-rat Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I flashed the update last night. I haven't played with it enough to answer your questions, but I'll start trying a few things out and let you know how it goes...
     
  11. donatom3

    donatom3 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm getting actual sound out of Netflix with my center and rear speakers using the new debug update. This is via HDMI and optical and as we all know HDMI won't pass audio through any channel that doesn't actually have an audio feed.
     
  12. Jmprnbr1

    Jmprnbr1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can someone do a full test and answer questions above? This would be great if all the bugs get worked out.
     
  13. danger-rat

    danger-rat Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Flash version is 10.2. I haven't tried to update, because I suspect it's baked into the browser )no apparent stand alone flash app). I will play with it some more at the weekend.

    Plex - I haven't tried Plex, and I don't intend on purchasing just to test. What specific file formats or codecs are you looking for?

    Netflix appears to be playing through all 6 speakers, but I don't know if it's true 5.1

    Hotmail - I'm not sure I understand the question?

    "Save as" - You can download files, and use a file manager/explorer to rename them, if that's what you mean?

    Copy a link - not found a way to do this yet. Having extensions enabled in Chrome (not available at present) would be the obvious fix.

    Not tried the password thing yet either...

    There is a video here:
    Video: Logitech Revue Gets Another HoneyComb Leak, This Time With More Polish and Netflix on Board | ChannelAndroid.com
     
  14. ColmARocK

    ColmARocK New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the update,

    Did you see any VPN configs under the network setup, I know HC has it but they probably remove it.

    Thanks again.
     
  15. danger-rat

    danger-rat Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll take a look when I get home tonight...
     
  16. Jmprnbr1

    Jmprnbr1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you also test if loading non google tv apps works? Like angry birds for example?
     
  17. danger-rat

    danger-rat Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some non-GTV apps work, but not Angry Birds... :(
     
  18. DCAlexandria

    DCAlexandria Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Hi Danger Rat! Have you tried to stream any TV shows on Fox or CBS?
     
  19. danger-rat

    danger-rat Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not yet, but I'll add it to my "to do" list... :)
     
  20. Cygnus

    Cygnus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does espn3.com work correctly?

    If you check the audio options of Fear, Itself, does it mention 5.1 sound?
     

Share This Page