Quantcast

Netflix randomly broke yesterday???

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by kenbarnum, Nov 23, 2012.

  1. kenbarnum

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Has anyone else had Netflix go bonkers on them yesterday.
    I have the latest Vizio update and its been working better for a week or 2.

    Just yesterday, the Netflix app started to freak out. It constantly loads on the red Netflix letterbox screen and then switches to a greyed out screen showing a white box with a red Netflix stripe near the top with the loading bars.
    It just loops these two loading screens.

    Anyone have this problem or have a fix?


    I have turned the vizio box off and on a few times.
    I have unplugged it a few times.
    I have NOT reset it yet because that is a PIA and a last resort.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2012
  2. LeadingMan

    LeadingMan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Only Netflix? Everything else works?
     
  3. kenbarnum

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Weirdly enough the Play Store crashed and then wouldn't show in the app list even after a plug pull restart.
    Other than that everything was working.
    I reset the box and now everything is currently working...what a PIA.
     
  4. amartin

    amartin New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This happened to me a few days ago as well. I tried clearing the cache for netflix, then cleared the data and started it again with no resolution to the problem. I think turning it off twice eventually worked. Pretty frustrating.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. kenbarnum

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It just happened again. What a piece of junk this COSTAR is...
    I don't want to factory reset again. Such a pain.
    I have it unplugged, hopefully when I restart it will fix itself. If it doesn't I may go back to my Revue.
     
  6. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,605
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Do other apps such as the Google Play Store work OK? It can't hurt to try rebooting your router.
     
  7. kenbarnum

    kenbarnum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2011
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Catfish.
    All other apps work fine. Yes, rebooted modem and router.

    I called Netflix to see if it was on their end. They said it was Vizio.
    Called Vizio and they said it was Verizon Fios and they needed to open ports 80 & 443.

    Realized I know more about Android than all of those people and realized DUH I can clear data.
    This worked today. Don't know the cause of the issue so I assume it will happen again but this is the current fix (whether temporary or not):

    V button>Settings>Applications>Manage Applications>Netflix>Clear Data>Force Close>Start Netflix>Re-login

    This is a bit of a pain but much better then Resetting the entire device.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

netflix greyed out

,
netflix greyed out on tv