Quantcast

Media Player says "Coming Soon". Best option(s) in the meantime?

Discussion in 'Sony's NSZ-GS8 / NSZ-GS7' started by Jaqen, Jul 22, 2012.

  1. Jaqen

    Jaqen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just picked up the Sony to replace a Logitech Revue.

    After the initial setup I was surprised there was no Media Player icon. I performed the suggested update and a Media Player icon appeared with "Coming Soon" text ghosted over it. I wonder how long Sony will take to release it?? It's disappointing since this is one of the primary features I used with the Revue.

    I've read the other threads commenting on this (I'm not the first) and folks have recommended GTVBox, Avia Media player and Plex as solutions. Are there any other recommended solutions?

    Finally, do folks feel it's worth pursuing a secondary program vs. waiting for Sony to release one?

    Thanks!
     
  2. mrspock

    mrspock Active Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    28
    +1 for GTVBox, it's the media player that rules them all.
     
  3. tomm1079

    tomm1079 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1 for plex.

    I installed plex and never looked back
     
  4. aagvain

    aagvain New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tried all 3 and my choice is plex......i prefer the layout
     
  5. halox

    halox New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2012
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I prefer GTVBox, because I don't stream from my computer. I stream from a network attached storage drive.
     
  6. eelpout

    eelpout New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well I like Plex & GTVBox both. ;)

    Plex though seems to have a problem when switching back from other apps. If I have a show paused and say return from Chrome, the open session always closes with an error.
     

Share This Page