Quantcast

loss of hdmi input

Discussion in 'Google TV Help' started by cirsory, Nov 6, 2013.

  1. cirsory

    cirsory New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    using the gs7. I love the googletv but I am having one very critical fault. On a regular basis it loses the HDMI input from my STB. It only shows black and have to pull the power to the gs7 to get it to show again. I have swapped HDMI cables already. Is there something to do?
     
  2. retroben

    retroben Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    28
    That is just that stupid issue where it freezes randomly.

    You can also hit Ctrl+Shift+Backspace to reset your GS7 when facing the black screen.

    It takes a few mashes for it to take effect.

    Edit:I recommend carefully doing the soft reboot by holding down the connect button on the bottom of your STB.

    First,unplug the box and wait ten seconds.
    Then flip the box and hold down the connect button with a pen/pencil while you plug it back in.
    Keep holding until a screen shows up with some options.
    The first option is the soft reboot which is already selected.
    Hold the connect button to make it reboot until the options go away.
    During this time you may see the quick rebooting text pop up and disappear.
    It will now boot like it normally does.
    Now I hope it runs better/faster/stronger for you. "Reference LOL"

    The first time I used soft reboot 5-6 months ago,it made mine go from sluggishly slow,to smooth as butter.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2013
  3. cirsory

    cirsory New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Didn't help. Still faults. I'm about to scrape the box. Its not worth it if I have to unplug it every other day.
     
  4. retroben

    retroben Active Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2013
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    28
    You should disable quick start if it is enabled so it can turn off completely for it to less likely get the black screen.
    Hopefully that will fix it.

    I have REL11 on my GS7,and I have not seen any screen crashes for quite a while,even when running it ragged.
    It might be because I deleted a lot of stuff using 7zipper 2.0s SD Card Usage option which displays largest size or largest file count.
    If you have 1mobile,it makes more than 2000 files of images and safe-to-delete data in just a few uses.
    I am at the 800s and 900s in MegaByes with less than one thousand files.

    You should try using 7zipper to do the same thing I did,being careful by not deleting crucial files.
    Appchina,Wandoujia,Aptoide,SlideMe,and 1mobile are the markets for easy downloads without a compatibility checker.
    Most have their own markets as an app.

    Edit:Sorry,I meant to say disable quick start,fixd.
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2013

Share This Page