Quantcast

Logitech Now Informing Revue Owners Without The 3.2 Update: "It's Our Servers"

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by CatfishRivers, Jun 21, 2012.

  1. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Well I'm one of the lucky ones that has been unable to download the 3.2 update thus far. I suspected all along this was a problem on Logitech's end - as a bunch of Revue users received updates that wouldn't download at the same time. It was the timing that was the clue... All of the updates that went out much earlier went off without a hitch.

    Logitech Support however still seems to be "uncoordinated" in their knowledge or response to this issue. I phoned Logitech support on Saturday and told the rep I suspected a server issue - but he didn't think so. So he put me on a list to receive a replacement Revue. He stated that within a few days I would receive an email from Logitech with shipping details and a return shipping label. As of yesterday I had not received the email - so I phoned back in to support. I was told by a different rep that they would send out my email today. So far nothing.

    So now today I'm seeing posts in other forums that Logitech support is telling Revue owners without the 3.2 update that they are having "server issues".

    From the Logitech Revue Forum today:

    "Re: My 3.2 Update Won't Download - Any Suggestions?
    Options
    06-21-2012 07:53 AM

    Yes I have been still waiting also, called support and he informed me of server issues and all will receive the upgrade soon, so I will just wait without trying the (force) update option."

    http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Revue/My-3-2-Update-Won-t-Download-Any-Suggestions/td-p/847000/page/2

    Also today from the Web-Nuts Forum we have the following post from today:

    "Posted: Jun Thu 21, 2012 7:42 am Post subject:

    Well I just called customer support and was informed that they are having problems with the servers and people are still waiting for the latest update, so he said it will come eventually, so I will wait."

    http://forum.web-nuts.com/viewtopic.php?t=19216
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2012
  2. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    OK I really wish Logitech would come to some sort of coordinated effort with their support staff as to what is really going on here. I read in another forum today that a different Revue user was told the same thing as what2du was told (that Logitech is having server issues effecting the 3.2 update and to be patient it will come eventually).....

    Well I just checked my email and Logitech has went ahead and shipped me out a replacement Revue. Now why would Logitech ship me a replacement Revue if the issue is supposedly caused by a Logitech server??? Geez what an uncoordinated mess......

    This is the email I just received from Logitech:

    "
    LOGITECH/AZ RETURNS pkginfo@ups.com
    4:41 PM (1 hour ago)
    to me
    UPS Returns Label Delivery
    This notice tells you that a UPS shipper has sent you an electronic label.
    You can print and use this label to include in your outbound shipment, or send it to the consignee. The label will be available for 30 days.
    Note: When retrieving your label below, we will provide you with both a UPS Returns Label and Commercial Invoice if the invoice was prepared by the original shipper.
    View UPS Returns Documentation Instructions
    Retrieve Your Label.
    Schedule a Pickup.
    Get the Receipt.
    Find the Closest Service Location.
    Find Out More About Returning Your Shipment.
     
  3. trallyus

    trallyus Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Catfish,
    I have the same type trouble with my lg bd 670 bluray player. When they put out the last update for it I kept trying and trying to force the update and eventually they had to send me a cd with the firmware updates on there. They told me the same thing about some players not being able to accept the update no matter how hard they try and I personally don't think it's the players fault , I believe they don't have enough servers to send the patches and updates out like they should and that is why a lot of people like me get an update is failed message when trying to update as I can only assume they sold more of the devices then they can update with their servers.

    My guess is logitech did the same thing with their google tvs. They probably sold them at low prices and did not use any of the money to keep their servers up to the proper amount needed to patch their devices. That probably is why you get rolling patches as everyone forcing their updates at once would probably shut down the servers like I think was happening with my bluray player.

    Just a theory.
     
  4. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I just got off the phone with a Logitech rep. This is what he said:

    1) The problem with my Revue not accepting the update is due to the firmware for my particular Revue. (Depending on the date of manufacture the Revues have different firmware)


    2) Logitech is experiencing no server issues. However not everyone has received the 3.2 update yet. They started the update roll-out on June 7th and it will take up to 30 days to complete.


    3) Logitech has not shipped me a replacement Revue yet. They only emailed me a return label to print out. (Just so happens I have no printer to print out the shipping return label - that I previously had told them about 5 times). If I want the rep will see if Logitech can send me a paper return label.


    4) Logitech WILL NOT send me a replacement unit until they receive my current unit from me FIRST. This is not good as the Revue is my only internet device and I use it everyday.


    5) If I opt to send my Revue back the rep said that Logitech pays for the shipping. (I guess that return shipping label is prepaid). Although I wonder about this......
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2012
  5. ColmARocK

    ColmARocK New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow that is not cool. I'm wondering why they are not simply add a link on their website to download and install the update regardless the framework. Seriously dont send your unit, it will get lost. I dont know if you can find a retailer who easly accept return and put you old unit in the box keep the new one and return the old one for refund.

    On my side I didnt see any amelioration after the 3.2 update, chrome is not more snapy and the flash pluging crash faster and more frequently than before.

    Sent from my Sony Tablet S using Tapatalk 2
     
  6. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    What's kind of strange is that when the update first started to roll-out, Adrian 336 a "Logitech Support Specialist" posted on the Revue forum that the update would be finished "by the end of the week". And today the Logitech Rep that I spoke to on the phone said it will take up to 30 days (from the beginning of the rollout) for the update to completed. It sure seems to me they must be having some server issues. This is the post that Adrian336 (the Logitech Support Specialist) made on June 6th when the update was ready to roll out:


    Re: Update to Honeycomb 3.2 Releasing this week - 6/5/2012
    Options
    06-06-2012 06:51 AM

    Hi guys,

    The update is available and by the end of the week your Revues should be updated, if you have any problems just let me know and I'll get back to you as soon as possible.

    Regards,
    Adrian

    http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Revue/Update-to-Honeycomb-3-2-Releasing-this-week-6-5-2012/td-p/842048
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2012
  7. trallyus

    trallyus Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    91
    Trophy Points:
    28
    The people I talked to about my bluray player did not want to blame their servers either - My guess is logitech is doing the same thing. Of course I am just guessing since I have no inside knowledge.
     
  8. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I did some research on the Logitech Revue Forum - and not surprisingly (to me anyway) I found TONS of posts related to problems users had with the installation/set-up of the previous 3.1 update. (Although I will add that I personally had no issues downloading the 3.1 update with my current Revue).

    I know a Logitech server was down around Christmas time - and at approx. the same time frame a corrupt firmware problem was announced. So it was particularly annoying to those who had received a Revue as a holiday gift - and subsequently had troubles getting it set-up and activated back then.

    Ironically it appears there were two "intermingling" issues back then also - consisting of a faulty Logitech server and/or corrupt firmware. So this is kind of like deja-vu in a way (although based on the number of posters that had problems - it seems the 3.2 update went smoother than the 3.1 update).

    The server issue was a recurring major problem for Logitech - where users could not get past step 5 (or step 7) in the set-up process. Then Logitech support claimed it was due to a firmware issue. I actually believe the reason users got stuck on step 5 was due to a faulty server - whereas those who could not get past step 7 had the firmware issue.

    This is a link to an article about the supposed corrupt firmware problem on the Revue that surfaced around Christmas time (I say "supposed" because there was some doubt at the time if this issue was real):

    http://www.theverge.com/2011/12/26/2662553/logitech-revue-google-tv-corrupted-firmware

    For those that are interested I'll post a few links to past threads (search results) from the Logitech Revue Forum - many of the threads are from back when the 3.1 update was going out - and they mention the issues going on at the time:

    Search - Logitech Forums (search results for "corrupt firmware")

    http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Revue/Official-Issues-during-Update-Process-itself/td-p/749562 ("Official - Issues During Update Process Itself" thread)

    http://forums.logitech.com/t5/forum...=forum-board:revue&q=server+down#message-list (search results for "server down")

    http://forums.logitech.com/t5/forum...board:revue&q=server+unavailable#message-list (search results for "server unavailable")

    http://forums.logitech.com/t5/forum...ard:revue&q=authentication+error#message-list (search results for "authentication error")

    http://forums.logitech.com/t5/forum...orum-board:revue&q=update+failed#message-list (search results for "update failed")

    http://forums.logitech.com/t5/forum...forum-board:revue&q=can't+update#message-list (search results for "can't update")

    http://forums.logitech.com/t5/forum...=triangle+with+exclamation+point#message-list (search results for "triangle with exclamation point")
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2012
    • Like Like x 2
  9. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I noticed that there is currently a very recent thread (started on June 21st) on the Logitech Revue Forum where users are reporting they are not able to set-up a new video source - and instead are getting a "network unavailable" message from Logitech. I take this to be further indication that Logitech is currently experiencing "server issues". Here's a link to the thread:

    Cannot add new Video source - Logitech Forums


    IMO those Revue owners that have never received anything yet from Logitech about the 3.2 update - can still be hopeful that this is due to the Logitech servers and NOT a bad Revue unit with corrupt firmware. You can check on this by going to settings and then click "about" and then click "system updates". If you don't see anything about the 3.2 update (once you have clicked "system updates") - at least then there is still a decent chance your Revue box itself is still likely to be OK.


    If after you click "system updates" you see some message about a new update available - but the update didn't load properly on your Revue - then I'm sorry to say it is more likely that you might have a Revue with corrupt firmware.


    Ordinarily once a Revue unit is unsuccessful in downloading a new update on the first try - it is an indication of a firmware issue - and thus it will also fail on subsequent tries.


    However IMO this situation is not "ordinary" because Logitech is having server issues - so I would add that there still could be a chance that the update would work on subsequent tries (even if it failed on the first try). I can't rule it out completely because of the server issues.


    Once Logitech has confirmed that ALL the updates have gone out and that there are no server issues - then we can be (relatively) sure on if our Revue box is effected by the corrupted firmware issue.


    Note: The boxes with corrupted firmware still work good on the older 3.1 update - the only problem is that they won't properly download and install the new 3.2 update.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2012
  10. Alaska4Me

    Alaska4Me Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Santee,CA
    If Logitech's CEO DeLuca had not turned tail so soon,and waited to see what Marvell was willing to bring to the table.they would still be one of the leaders in Google TV.


    It came at a time,shortly after Logitech went "cold feet",Intel was soon to follow with their chipsets.
    Marvell came forward and reshaped the future of a solid Google TV as we know it
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
how to update logitech revue firmware
,
logitech revue download update news version
,
logitech revue firmware download
,

logitech revue firmware update

,
logitech revue firmware upgrade
,
logitech revue first time install stuck at step 5
,
logitech revue google tv firmware update
,
logitech revue system update failed
,
logitech revue won t update
,
revue update