Quantcast

LG G2 Defects

Discussion in 'LG Internet TV' started by Ron.Shosti, Sep 13, 2012.

1. Ron.Shosti

Ron.Shosti New Member

I'm posting a list of issues that I hope LG/Google can address in their next release. It surprises me the amount of issues that I've seen with this device. I'm an embedded systems engineer by day so I realize every products ships with defects, but it shocks me that they would release a product with this many issues. I really do want to like this TV, but everyday it tests my patience. My Samsung Galaxy S3 has been flawless, so I kind of expected the same with this TV.

Issue #1 (Horrible Wifi)
    - The fastest speed I could get through wifi was 1Mb/s, which made navigating apps very slow. My phone's wifi (in the same location) managed 10Mb/s. A powerline ethernet adapter solved my bandwidth issue and I know get 10Mb/s. It surprises me a product this big couldn't afford a larger wifi antenna.

Issue #2 (Netflix App)
    - The interface is horribly inconsistent. The pointer doesn't work, sometimes you have to move the cursor back and forth just to make a selection, 5.1 Dolby causes the audio to cut out.

Issue #3 (App updates)
    - Google Play notifies me of updates, but doesn't show me which ones need updating... annoying.

Issue #4 (No Hulu?)
    - This perhaps isn't Google's or LG's fault, but still annoying.

Issue #5 (No way to stream directly from my WMC PC)
    - I couldn't find a way to stream either through SMB or DLNA movies from my windows home media center without a 3rd party app.

Issue #6 (Clicking home doesn't always work)
    - When I power on the TV, it sometimes takes a half a dozen clicks or more to get the home screen to finally pop up.

Issue #7 (keyboard is laid out inefficiently)
    - No '@' character is annoying, plus the pause, play and arrow buttons are too small.

There are probably more issues that I'm missing but I wanted to get this out there in case somebody at Lg/Google is listening.

2. ChrisG8