Quantcast

Let the Truth be told ... Can the Co-Star play audio encoded as AC3

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by craigdthom, Jan 13, 2013.

1. craigdthom

craigdthom New Member

Hello All,

I am totally new at this so please take it easy ...

I've seen a number of reviews of the Co-star playing the audio of MKV files encoded as AC3 where users say they we successful.

I have yet to be able to do this. I have the latest Co-Star firm ware loaded(3.2) . I have the Plex media server on my Linux Mint machine. I have the Plex client installed on the co-Star ... the Video works excellent, but no Audio for AC3 files

Am I missing something or is it this type of audio just does not play on the Co-Star.

I can play the file from the PC, but not thru the Co-Star ... Is there something else I need to do ... or is it just a fact the Co-Star will not play AC3 audio encoded files

Audio
    Codec Dolby Digital (AC-3)
    Channels Stereo
    Sample Rate 48000 Hz
    Bit rate 192 kbps

2. Wisdom

Wisdom New Member

Go here http://www.googletvforum.org/forum/...io-co-star-reviews-your-hands-experience.html and scroll down to * How I got Mkv files and AC3 audio files to work with Plex via optical out from your TV to a receiver (Thanks To Zevot) ... This maybe what you are looking for, maybe ...(l0l)

• Like Like x 2
  3. craigdthom

craigdthom New Member

The Truth has been told ... and the answer is YES Yes yes

Open Plex and under advanced settings, disable AC3.

That was all I had to do. Audio plays on my TV ( No Optical out .. No receiver .. none of that - It works just like any other file format)
    All of my AC3 encoded audio that did not previous play now plays

the Vizio Co-star is the best!

Thanks Again,
    Craig​

4. amartin

amartin New Member

By your own description of the solution, the answer is no, the co star can't play ac3. You have to convert down using your computer with a program such as plex.

• Like Like x 2
  5. kingzope

kingzope New Member