Quantcast

Issues with Media Player in GTV2.0

Discussion in 'Google TV General Discussion' started by dec3ption, Nov 2, 2011.

  1. dec3ption

    dec3ption New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Since getting the update, I am having issues with some files (XviD) I'm trying to stream from my DLNA server. They have a pretty significant delay in the audio and I can't figure out why... They played fine before the update, and seem to be identical in encoding to some files that play without any problems. Anyone else have this issue?
     
  2. shane.smith

    shane.smith New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    install the aVia media player app from market. It's brilliant, a lot better than the stock media player app which was awfully slow and streaming was pretty laggy as well.
     
  3. drhill

    drhill Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I installed aVia and quickly uninstalled. It didn't see any files, it was slow, and it wasn't pretty. I had the exact opposite experience as you.
     
  4. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I could only see files from the local USB storage. It couldn't recognize Twonky Multimedia or TVserity DLNA servers. But, it did have an interesting option to enable it as a DLNA server. Unfortunately, it wasn't recognized by any of my DLNA devices. LOL.
     
  5. shane.smith

    shane.smith New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Weird, i use TVserity DLNA as well and it was able to recognize it, it also recognized my Windows Media Player server. Maybe you just need a refresh or scan for devices?
     
  6. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Did that multiple times. Even tried reinstalling. I gave up on it and uninstalled it altogether. Besides, I didn't like the interface it was too much like a blown up phone/tablet UI.
     
  7. drhill

    drhill Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    100% agree with you eferz.
     
  8. slydog75

    slydog75 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I'm having the exact same problem with Avia here on my Sony box. Refuses to see any of the many media servers on my network.
     
  9. les anderson

    les anderson New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    GTVbox is in the market and seems to handle most codecs. Most importantly, you can mount a network drive through it and avoid using DLNA. It has been rock solid and super fast over the last 24 hours. It is $1.99 but I believe it can be found in the gtvhackers dropbox account.
     
  10. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    It isn't handling any more or less codec or container compatibilities than built-in Media Player. The real benefit is being able to stream from a file server share. It avoids any streaming and transcoding issues due to an misconfigured client profile(s) on the DLNA server.
     
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2011

Share This Page