Quantcast

Is Mirroring possible with two Google TV Boxes?

Discussion in 'Google TV General Discussion' started by madz, Mar 31, 2013.

  1. madz

    madz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it possible to mirror one gtv screen to the other?

    I think that feature or app would be awesome and would be a great multiroom solutiong for viewing tv.

    Or is it stupid?
     
  2. chopper

    chopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    What would you like to mirror?
     
  3. madz

    madz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would like to mirror the TV cable box plugged in the gtv.
     
  4. chopper

    chopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    So if you are watching a show on 1 TV you can also see it on another TV?

    I don't think this is possible via GTV as your cable box is a pass through signal and GTV is an add on which is basically a pop up on top of your cable box content.

    I suppose one way to do this would be to get an HDMI spliter (if it exists) to connect to the output of your cable box. Now run one line to the 1st GTV box and another line to the 2nd GTV box. This only works if HDMI cables work over long distances (room to room?). And then to control the cable box from the 2nd room a long IR blaster cable (if it exists?) would be needed.

    This set up would only allow you to watch the exact same content on each TV set if it would even work? This could be usefull in a sports bar but at home I don`t get why you would want this?
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2013
  5. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I assume he wants it to overcome having one cable box and more than one display in the house.
     
  6. ColmARocK

    ColmARocK New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It will not work. Because gtv is complient to hdmi input regulation no app could take printscreen or proceed the hdmi image. I dont know if hdmi splitter exist but most of hdmi device count the numer of unit in amont and block it if its greater than 1 and one device (hdmi splitter) is not compliant to hdmi regulations.

    Envoyé depuis mon SGH-I747M avec Tapatalk
     
  7. madz

    madz New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you
    i think i found a solution but expensive actiontec mywirelesstv
     

Share This Page