Quantcast

How to use Google TV with a standard cable box?

Discussion in 'Google TV Help' started by FluxEdge, May 23, 2014.

1. FluxEdge

FluxEdge New Member

Hi there. I was wondering, is there any way to use GoogleTV with a standard cable box? And, if not, how would I acquire a cable box with an HD port without subscribing to HD channels? And if I can use Google TV without a cable box that has an HD port, how would I do such a thing? I'm not very technical in this field, so if you could explain in the most simple of terms, it would be much appreciated. Thanks in advanced. :)

2. CatfishRivers

CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

There's no way to do it unless you add another box (such as Tivo) to pass through the unencrypted basic signal. See link below

http://www.googletvforum.org/forum/vizio-co-star/8831-using-costar-cable-but-no-cable-box.html

Also another device such as an upscaling DVD player with Coaxial input might work to pass through the unencrypted cable signal as well. However the cable companies have been encrypting the basic tier - so that means you would need to use Tivo with a cable card or with OTA.

http://www.googletvforum.org/forum/...ct-co-star-cable-box-without-hdmi-output.html

The best solution for you would be to just get the HD cable box with the HDMI port.

Last edited: May 24, 2014
    • Like Like x 2
  3. FluxEdge

FluxEdge New Member

Thanks. Just a quick follow up question. What would Tivo do? Would it replace the cable box or just be a second? And if I got Tivo, as I have just looked it up, would I also have the Apple TV like it says, or, as you said, just have it pass through?

4. CatfishRivers