Quantcast

How to switch among running apps?

Discussion in 'Google TV General Discussion' started by jschall, Mar 16, 2013.

  1. jschall

    jschall Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mont Saint Hilaire, Québec
    I am a newcomer to GTV - I've had my SONY NSZ-GS7 for two weeks, now. It is running GTV3.2, REL07.

    I run ICS 4.0.3 on my tablet and on my TV stick. I use the app-switch button on the bottom bar all the time to switch among apps still held in RAM, like between Opera Mobile and Google Play, for example. It's so convenient.

    To do such a switch with GTV, I have to go back to the Home screen and select Play, then back to the Home sreen again and re-open Chrome.

    Is there a better way to switch among running apps in Google TV?
     
  2. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Hold the home button, that will show recent apps, running or not, and use the down arror to highlight the app you want to switch to, hit enter or OK. Same warning I gave you on the web page switching, running several simultaneously will often cause you to crash. This is not a powerful computer but an inexpensive computer like appliance and managing resources is necessary.
     
  3. jschall

    jschall Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mont Saint Hilaire, Québec
    Thanks, @ChrisG8. Why didn't I think of that?

    Is that covered in any manual anywhere?

    I run SMART RAM BOOSTER. I think it helps.
     
  4. ChrisG8

    ChrisG8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    462
    Trophy Points:
    83
    It does help in my opinion, it closes apps that are using resources but that doesn't change my recommendation.
     
  5. Carlszone

    Carlszone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,133
    Likes Received:
    182
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Norfolk Va
    Hi

    Another option, especially for apps not listed in 'Recent Apps,' use the search & input the app. The Search feature will show the app once ya spell it out just enough to get past other listings. For example, 'Primet' will show Primetime, click on it and the App option will appear. Search is cool because you can bring it up from any app yer in w/out needing to close the app. Great for jumping from app to app. The logitech Revue still allows for only inputting one letter for any app ya wanna bring up via search.

    I miss that w/the GS7...

    Carl
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. jschall

    jschall Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Mont Saint Hilaire, Québec
    Thanks, Carl. I'll have to try that.
     
    • Like Like x 2

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

google tv close running apps

,

how switch to running apps android tv