Quantcast

Hisense Pulse / Google TV Impressions

Discussion in 'Hisense Pulse' started by tjharris, Mar 2, 2013.

1. tjharris

tjharris New Member

I'm a long time HTPC user. I've been using MythTV on Linux for many years and in general I'm happy with it. I am mainly looking for a frontend device with more options for things like Netflix, Amazon, etc. along with DVR access. So, I bought the Pulse to see if it was usable for this. The other box I've got hooked up to my system is an AppleTV, which I primarily use for Netflix. But it doesn't support Amazon streaming, which was another reason for me to go to Google TV.

Unfortunately, I haven't been able to fully run it through its paces, because it failed at the most fundamental part of its operation - displaying a picture. As I mentioned in another thread, it incorrectly auto-detects my display resolution as 480p and does not offer any way to override that setting. So, the display is hopelessly bad, which limited the exploration I did into other apps and functions. But, I did try out some things:

- Basic Navigation / Usability: The resolution impacted this, as many things were hard to read in 480p mode. But, even so I found it very unintuitive and hard to navigate. The strange mix of standard IR remote buttons, mouse pointer, and keyboard input was clunky and inconsistent. In many cases, it only uses a fraction of the available screen real estate making an unintuitive UI even harder to navigate. In my opinion, they missed the mark on a "10 foot interface" for home theater use. It's an odd mix of a Linux box and settop box which could/should be much easier to use.