Quantcast

Help with set up

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by Clanman, Oct 4, 2011.

  1. Clanman

    Clanman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Evening all

    I'm very new to all of this, so i apologize if this has been answered a million times before.

    I just purchased a Logitech Revue and we also received a new Comcast STB, which is the DCX3400.

    I am connecting through a Sony STRK3360 receiver and just cannot get the Live TV option to work.

    At the moment, I am connected as follows:

    STB out to Revue In via HDMI cable
    Revue out to Sony Receiver in via HDMI
    Sony Receiver out to TV in via HDMI

    I also have a PS3 which is alos connected through the receiver as well.

    When I try to add the device through the Revue screen, all i see is a green box where the TV should be showing.

    I have read about using a SPDIF cable, but I don't really understand how that all works. Wouldn't connecting the receiver to the Revue via SPDIF cause problems with receiving the correct audio from the PS3?

    Any advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    The problem with most Comcast boxes is that they impose an HDCP limitation up a daisy chaining up to two levels deep. So, the Comcast box will only work with the Revue or an AV receiver then the television. If you try to chain all four devices together then you'll trip the HDCP limitation and the HDMI video signal will be disabled.

    Using an digital optical cable in this situation will allow you to port your Logitech Revue and Set-top box's sound to the AV receiver. Since the HDMI connection will not be inline with more than two devices across the chain, then you can enjoy the video through your television and sound through the AV receiver.

    Since your Playstation 3 is using a completely separate input connection, the Revue won't interfere with its connection.
     
  3. Clanman

    Clanman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the information. I am still a little confused on how this should all be connected together. From what I am seeing, i would connect the following:

    STB out to Revue In via HDMI cable
    Revue to Sony Receiver via SPDIF
    Revue out to TV in via HDMI

    Sony Receiver out to TV in via HDMI (using second HDMI port)
    PS3 out to Receiver in via HDMI

    So the PS3 would be using its own HDMI connection for audio, and the STB and Revue would be using the SPDIF for audio?

    Does that sound correct? I think I may be confusing myself here :)
     
  4. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Yes..
     
  5. Clanman

    Clanman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome thanks.

    One more question, any recommendations on where to buy a SPDIF cable at a decent price? Best Buy's cheapest appears to be $70.Al

    Also, i'm seeing some different cable types, SPDIF, Toslink, etc. Are these all the same? Which cable exactly do I need?
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
  6. Jacksmyname

    Jacksmyname Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    18
    SPDIF and Toslink are the same cable (optical, which is what you need).
    A great place to buy cables is Monoprice dot com.
    They sell great stuff at great prices.
     
  7. Clanman

    Clanman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks again for all the help!
     

Share This Page