Quantcast

HELP!! HTMI to 5 RCA Componate Converter Boxes !!????

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by TonyTechTV, Feb 28, 2011.

  1. TonyTechTV

    TonyTechTV New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Looking for a little help,
    Please if you do not know the correct answer (don't guess, it's too costly to keep buying more devices and cables).
    My situation is.. I have a logictech revue w/ google Tv box on it's way. I understand that it's out put is in HDMI only. I have a dish network dual tunner HD dvr ViP722, which has component/composite, coaxial inputs and outputs and (I hope I'm naming these correctly) RCA jacks Y Pb Pr, and red, white and yellow, and HDMI outputs which I have already checked and supposely works well with the Google Tv box. Here in lies my issue. I have an older (appx.'02) Mitsubishi Hd1080 65" wide screen rear projection tv that does not have an HDMI input, It does have dual coaxial inputs and component/composite (I hope I'm naming these correctly, again) RCA jacks Y Pb Pr, and red, white and yellow. Knowing that it will not hook up directly to my Tv, I thought I would get some type of adapter wire that would go from HDMI out to RCA/component/composite jacks Y Pb Pr, and red, white in. which I did find some on e-bay and amazon. but before ording I read through the reviews and for what most people were wanting to do was the same kind of conversion (digtial to analog) that I need to do, and for almost every single one they state these wires donot, cannot and will not ever convert ditgal to analog by their self! If this is the case... why do they even sell this cable?? So, after being scared off for this being my answer, I looked into a converter box that would convert ditgal HDMI into my 5 wire red, blue, green red white analog connection, found several that I thought would do the trick for round $45.00 to $75.00 but after reading the reviews on those about 50% of the people who purchased them claimed that they didn't work either. Some not saying what they were hooking up to what, some saying they were hooking up Apple Tv HDMI out to component in, through this box and some say it worked for them and some say it didn't, possably could be the difference in make, model televisions,? could not find anyone that has my particular situation, have not purchased any kind of converter at this point, but my Goolgle Tv is on it's way and I would like to solve this before it gets here. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Sorry to be so long winded, but when trying to explain my set up.. it takes a minute. :cool:
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011
  2. StevenB

    StevenB New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Starkville
    To kinda validate my knowledge, I will state first that I was a Best Buy Home Theater Customer Specialist for around 3-4 years.

    So to clarify/simplify for any who read, I am going to attempt (hopefully successfully) to restate TonyTechTV's issue.

    He wants to hook up Revue to a TV that only has Component (Y,Pb,Pr, or just the red, green, and blue) as a viable option. The TV's max output is either 720p/1080i or 1080p.
    However, I can assume since it doesn't have hdmi, it isn't capable of 1080p since hdmi has been available since before 1080p.
    Side note: Composite is the yellow video cable. Component is the 3 cable set red, green, and blue. Then you have the stereo audio cables, red and white.

    Fact:
    The signal HAS to be converted from digital(HDMI) to analog.

    Youtube Link to a simple hdmi to 5 RCA component/stereo cable. Thing to note was the maker AV Demand.

    This is AV Demand's site, with the link taking you to the hdmi to component converter page.
    Component to HDMI Converter
    This is what may be the Amazon.com link to the same product. Not sure though.
    Amazon.com: HDMI to 5 RCA component AV Converter: Electronics

    Without paying too much, I really do think that this converter is your best shot. There's that guy on amazon that left a review who has a mitsu 1080i rear projection tv. His review is slightly disheartening considering you have a mitsu rear projection tv as well. The bright side is we don't know what kind of AV device he was hooking to his mitsu AND there are other reviewers with rear projections that have successful experiences with this product!

    My suggestion, try this out. Buy it on amazon. If it doesn't work, though it probably will, send it back the same/next day!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 30, 2014
  3. galfert

    galfert Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    I have your solution. I own it and it works flawlessly with Google TV.

    It is called HDFury3. It is pricy but well worth it. It is the only device I found that properly tackles the whole HDCP digital security. The issue isn't just converting HDMI to Component....you need to crack HDMI's HDCP encryption and only HDFury3 does this. The reason some of those other cheaper devices exist and sometimes work and sometimes they don't, is because they only work when the HDMI source is not using HDCP. For your Dish box to work you need to have a solution that handles the HDCP. This is also the reason the HDFury3 is hard to purchase...as it does something (bypass HDCP security) that is illegal in the US. So you have to order your HDFury3 from over seas or directly from the HDFury3 site, and no domestic retailers exist. I paid $180 for my HDFury3 from Monoprice.com and before that Curtpalme.com also sold it for similar price but I think they got letters from lawyers telling them the device they were selling was illegal. Seems now the price is higher and it cost more to get it to you because you are ordering from outside of the country. If you don't want to buy a new TV this is your only solution.

    My problem was essentially the same thing. I needed to convert the Google TV output of HDMI to component because I wanted to be able to put my Slingbox inline that only accepts component input. I couldn't use the cable/satellite box component output at the same time as HDMI is being used...so the Slingbox had to find a solution to be put inline. Because if you hook up HDMI output of your cable/satelite box it shuts off the component output...this is part of the HDCP compliance.

    My setup:
    Cable Box ---> Revue Google TV ---> HDFury3 ---> Slingbox ---> Receiver ---> TV

    For you it would look like this:
    Dish Box ---> Revue Google TV ---> HDFury3 ---> TV

    For the sound my advice though is to not use RCA for audio (although you could with the HDFury3) but rather use the Google TV TOSLINK/SPDIF optical sound to your TV...you might have that sound input on your TV....if not then use the RCA for sound.
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2011
  4. StevenB

    StevenB New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Starkville
    I agree with galfert completely. Sorry I didn't mention about the HDCP issue, it was late. HDFury3 WILL definitely work. it costs more, which is why I mentioned the one on amazon without having to pay much money. However, if you don't want to take a chance and can afford it, get the HDFury3. Don't get the 2 as it doesn't support hdmi v1.3, which is most likely what the revue outputs, as well as the hdmi cable you're most likely to buy in a store. There is hdmi 1.4 cable out there so if you get it, don't worry because the output from the revue is still hdmi v1.3.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

android tc box not working on rear projection tv

,

can i use a converter box with a logitech revue instead of a cable box