Quantcast

GTVBox vs Plex vs ?

Discussion in 'Vizio Co-Star' started by wicketr, Sep 11, 2012.

  1. wicketr

    wicketr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I currently have the Plex app loaded on my Co-star, but am not real happy with the rewind and fast-forward when watching movies through DLNA. It is almost unusable. I guess I'm spoiled by the way my PS3 handles that functionality. Is the GTVBox app any better? Any other app work better?

    And why doesn't the built in Playpoint app work with mkv/h.264. None of my videos will play through it, yet the specs say it supports those formats. ???
     
  2. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Give Serviio a test run> Serviio media server .....!

    Audio: MP3( .mp3), Windows Media Audio (.wma), AAC (.m4a), OGG (.ogg, .oga), FLAC (.flac)

    Video: MPEG-1 (.mpg, .mpeg), MPEG-2 PS (.mpg, .mpeg, vob, mod), MPEG-2 TS (.ts, .m2ts), MPEG-4 (.mp4, m4v, mov), AVI (.avi, .divx), Windows Media Video (.wmv, .asf), Matroska (.mkv), Flash (.flv, .f4v), DVR-MS (.dvr, .dvr-ms), WTV (.wtv), OGG (.ogv, .ogm), 3GP (.3gp)

    Image: JPEG (.jpg, .jpeg), GIF (.gif), PNG (.png)

    Playlist: PLS (.pls), M3U (.m3u, .m3u8), ASX (.asx, .wax., .wrx), WPL (.wpl)
     
  3. booster944

    booster944 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have had no issues with gtvbox other than the fact that costar wont do ac3 pass through :(. gtvbox playz most of my mp4, mkvs, and avis. Syncs up perfectly with windows networking shares (SMB) no need to run any additional server software. FF and RW work when you hold the buttons down, also if you press the 1 button, it jumps to 10%, 2, 20% etc. it also saves where you left off in the video when you stop so that you can resume later on.
     
  4. mcd2000

    mcd2000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Saint-Petersburg, Russia
    The main difference is that,basically, all Plex content is transcoded on the server. That allows it to play almost anything, but it sometimes effects quality and performance.
    GTVBox relies on playback capabilities of your device. So, it plays less formats, but do not transode and works faster.
    PlayPoint app seems to support less formats that CoStar can actually decode. That's very strange.
     
  5. csrini1

    csrini1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    18
    The point should be to have minimum devices running, so personally i don't like my computer to be on all the time. gtv is fine as long as one has only mkv files to play without subtitles, but all these apps still have a long way to go...
     
  6. degsie

    degsie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'm hopeful that XBMC will make it's way onto GoogleTV some day with hardware acceleration support. It is by far the most complete media player solution I have come across. I currently use it on ATV2 and it plays EVERYTHING (that I throw at it) :D
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2012
  7. Latenter

    Latenter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another vote for getting XMBC working, but I think that might require a GoogleTV NDK. As it stands though, how do the Plex and GTVBox clients stand up to aVia? It's free, and while the interface is a little clunky, it works great for playback paired up with Serviio.
     
  8. ecd1973

    ecd1973 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    When you set up Serviio to work with the Vizio, what profile are you using for the Vizio player? There are preset defaults, but GoogleTV is not one of them. Are you using the Generic DLNA profile?
     
  9. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes ....
     
  10. badbradd2

    badbradd2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you use the Generic profile, I noticed it says that Serviio will not transcode. I'm guessing this might cause issues with trying to play MKV files, since it won't transcode it? I was able to add in a Vizio Co-Star profile yesterday that changes sound to MP3 for all MKV files as a work-around for now, until Vizio releases an update. It seems to be working for the most part. I made it through an entire MKV video with sound yesterday and not one pause. That was the first I have been able to do that since buying the Co-Star.
     
  11. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Very good, take you time, try to transcode you MKV file using another profile as a experiment, I believe it will work and post your results for all .....
     
  12. badbradd2

    badbradd2 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I added the following text code into the "profiles.xml" file in the Serviio program folder. This adds a Co-Star profile to Serviio. The code allows you to play MKV files and downstream the audio to MP3 since not all MKV files function correctly with the Co-Star as of yet. Not the best audio since it is MP3, but it allows you to play all your MKV with audio finally. Once you add in the code, you need to restar Serviio for it to take effect and add the profile.

    Here is the code:

    <Profile id="150" name="Vizio Costar" extendsProfileId="1">
    <Transcoding>
    <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="mp3" aBitrate="320" forceInheritance="true">
    <Matches container="matroska" />
    </Video>
    </Transcoding>
    </Profile>
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome, see man you are a genius ...! A few questions, how did you recompile the Serviio executive file back ..? I believe you made code changes in the Config folder> Application Profiles.Xml ... Please send me a link to your new Windows Serviio executive file with all the code goodies built In ...(lol) Thanks ten tons in advance, this is a major break through ....
     
  14. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here is what I did ....


    <Profile id="150" name="Vizio Costar" extendsProfileId="1">
    <Transcoding>

    <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="mp3" aBitrate="320" forceINheritance="true">
    <Matches container="matroska" vCodec="h264" squarePixels="true" />
    <Matches container="mp4" vCodec="h264" squarePixels="true"/>
    <Matches container="avi" vCodec="h264" squarePixels="true"/>
    <Matches container="mpegts" vCodec="h264" squarePixels="true"/>
    <Matches container="3gp" vCodec="h264" squarePixels="true"/>

    I know what you did now (lol) I'm LMAO at myself, I'm thinking you decompile a Android app ...(lol) Thanks 20 tons .....(lol)
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2012
  15. degsie

    degsie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2012
  16. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome, thanks a trillion ..!(lol)

    Final changes:


    <Profile id="6" name="Vizio Co-Star" extendsProfileId="1">
    <Detection>
    <HttpHeaders>
    <User-Agent>.*Vizio Co-Star.*</User-Agent>
    </HttpHeaders>
    <UPnPSearch>
    <FriendlyName>^Vizio Co-Star.*$</FriendlyName>
    </UPnPSearch>
    </Detection>
    <Transcoding>
    <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="mpeg4video" targetACodec="mp3" aBitrate="320" forceINheritance="true">="true">
    <Matches container="matroska" />
    <Matches container="mp4" />
    <Matches container="asf" />
    <Matches container="avi" />
    <Matches container="ogg" />
    <Matches container="mpeg2" />
    <Matches container="h264" />


    Change back to this one ...


    <Profile id="150" name="Vizio Costar" extendsProfileId="1">
    <Transcoding>
    <!-- Transcode matroska, avi, mp4, mpeg2 -->
    <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="mp3" aBitrate="320" forceINheritance="true">
    <Matches container="matroska" vCodec="h264" squarePixels="true" />
    <Matches container="mp4" vCodec="h264" squarePixels="true"/>
    <Matches container="avi" vCodec="h264" squarePixels="true"/>
    <Matches container="mpegts" vCodec="h264" squarePixels="true"/>
    <Matches container="mpeg2" vCodec="h264" squarePixels="true"/>
    </Video>
    </Transcoding>
    </Profile>
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2012
  17. Latenter

    Latenter New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What client renderer are you using? There are plenty of mkv and avi that I can't play using Playpoint, but in aVia (and I assume others) they all work fine, or least all the ones I've tried. This is all using the same generic DLNA profile in Serviio.

    **Edited to add: This might be because aVia may be doing passthrough audio to my receiver, whereas Playpoint might be trying to decode the audio. If you aren't passing audio to something that can handle it that might still be a problem.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2012
  18. mdvalenz

    mdvalenz New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm going to try serviio to transcode the AC3 audio. The co-star seems to play all my video, it's just ac3 it can't play.
    I'm trying the profile from the serviio site that was linked above, but I added avi and mp4 video containers as well since I don't just have mkv files with ac3.
    I'll let you know how it works.

    <Profile id="150" name="Vizio Costar" extendsProfileId="1">
    <Transcoding>
    <!-- Transcode matroska, avi, mp4, mpeg2 -->
    <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetACodec="mp3" aBitrate="320" >
    <Matches container="matroska" aCodec="ac3"/>
    <Matches container="avi" aCodec="ac3"/>
    <Matches container="mp4" aCodec="ac3"/>
    </Video>
    </Transcoding>
    </Profile>

    On a side note, my co-star remote stopped working :( Going to try to reset it or repair it and see if that fixes it.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
  19. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [​IMG][/URL]

    WHO SAID THE GTVBOX CANNOT PLAY MATROSKA (mkv files), SEE CODE BELOW VIA SERVIIO> PROFILE.XML ...

    [​IMG][/URL]

    Notice the video is saying invalid, yet the mkv file plays/works like a charm, via the GTVBox with the Serviio Server, (See Code Run Below)

    <Profile id="2" name="Vizio Co-Star" extendsProfileId="1">
    <!-- 2012 model for US (Without divx/xvid)
    - Still images: JPEG, PNG, GIF, BMP, RAW, Exif, RGBE
    - Music: MP3, AC3, AAC, WMA
    - Video: AVI, MPEG2, MATROSKA, MP4 (MPEG4), AVHD, MP4 (AVC), WMV -->
    <Transcoding>
    <!-- Transcode MATROSKA, AVI, MPEG4, MPEG2, DivX, XviD -->
    <Video targetContainer="mpegts" targetVCodec="mpeg4video" maxVBitrate="1700 targetACodec="mp3" aBitrate="320" forceInheritance="true">
    <Matches container="matroska" vCodec="h264" />
    <Matches container="avi" vCodec="mpeg4" />
    <Matches container="avi" vCodec="mpeg2" />
    <Matches container="avi" vCodec="h264" />
    <Matches container="mp4" vCodec="h264" />
    </Video>
    </Transcoding>

    </Profile>

    The above code parameters are more geared toward what the Vizio Co-Star can do as far as it's working ability is concerning ...
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
  20. Wisdom

    Wisdom New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2,064
    Likes Received:
    187
    Trophy Points:
    0
    [​IMG]

    All the mkv video files with channel 2 audio, that I have thrown at the GTVBox and PlayPoint works very well via the Serviio Server with altered code ...
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to play vob files on nsz-gs7

,

restar roku3