Quantcast

giving Google TV some love

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by 1fatfrog, Feb 27, 2012.

1. 1fatfrog

1fatfrog New Member

I bought my GoogleTV about a month ago and I'm a huge fan. I really like the integration with OTA and traditional TV providers like Cable/FiOS, home media servers, and DVR/TiVo. I wrote a review and put it on my tech blog.
    I'm a newbie so I cant post links, but if you care to read it, jut google "fat frog tech blog" and it should show right up.

Unfortunately, GoogleTV is lacking in the Apps and content area. The platform is excellent, the UI is easy to navigate and the full qwerty keyboard is an excellent decision, but someone needs to help get developers to create more content for the Android/GoogleTV platform,

2. CatfishRivers

CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

I agree with you about the full qwerty keyboard with the Revue - unfortunately there were so many reviews by so-called tech 'experts' (that kept bashing the Revue keyboard). All I ever heard in the reviews was: "Who wants to use a full keyboard in the living room?".

I think these reviewers are basically wanting to use GTV in a way similar to a Roku. GTV IS NOT A ROKU! What they tend to forget is that GTV has a full web browser and people write emails, type searches, chat on Gmail, fill out forms, etc.

At any rate it seems to be a moot point now. Google bought into all the negative reviews that claimed the controllers were "clunky".

The current GTV products are all discontinued and very hard to find any new ones anywhere to buy now. So most new users will have to wait until the next generation of hardware comes out later this year - which according to demonstrations at CES they all have small hand-held controllers with a qwerty keyboard on one side. (This is similar in design to the Boxee Box controller).

3. Carlszone

Carlszone Well-Known Member

• Like Like x 2
  4. 1fatfrog

1fatfrog New Member