Quantcast

Geek guy - probably going to buy Logitech Revue but lots of questions

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by valkyr, Oct 6, 2011.

1. valkyr

valkyr New Member

So, I'm new here. I work in IT, enjoy geeking out once in a while and tearing into things. For example, recently replaced my cpu on my Dell Studio laptop so I could run virtual machines on more than 1 core. That was actually *not* a pleasant experience though let me tell ya.

Anyway, I have a lot of questions about the Revue.

Off the top of my head:
    1. Can you get 5.1 (or better) with Netflix and Amazon VOD? Do you need to update the OS on the revue to do this if it is possible?
    2. What accessories make the Revue better? Iphone app, different remote, anything?

I guess that's all at the moment...

THanks!

2. arrowrand

arrowrand New Member

There is apparently an issue with 5.1 sound and HDMI passthrough only giving 2 channels of sound. I've never experienced it because I've been using optical out from my TV to my home theater system.

I'm not sure what Amazon VOD offers because I've never used it, but when it's available on Netflix I get it now.

The only accessory I use with the Revue is the official Google TV app for Android. It works really well, though it has an annoying habit of wanting to reconnect all the time.

I've not heard a single good thing about the mini controller so I've passed on that. Price is too high for something that nobody seems to like. The video kit doesn't appeal to me in the least.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

3. valkyr

valkyr New Member

Good info. Thanks...

4. CatfishRivers

CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

A lot of people like the special video camera that Logitech sells for the Revue. It is a high quality HD camera. The price seems kind of high though to some people. This is the only vid cam that works with the Revue. (Logitech makes other vid cams - but only one works with the Revue).

5. valkyr

valkyr New Member