Quantcast

Error Playing Video in Logitech's Media Player

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by Bielefeld, Apr 4, 2011.

  1. Bielefeld

    Bielefeld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Logan UT
    So since I bought my Logitech Revue I have had my external hard drive plugged into it playing all the movies and tv shows I have on it without a problem. However since the most recent update Logitech's Media player keeps coming up with errors, sometimes not playing the video at all and sometimes stopping halfway through a show. Does anyone have any idea why an update would make this aspect of the revue worse?
     
  2. lucas710

    lucas710 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Camby IN---------------------------Sony 40" GTV
    I don't know, but you might benefit from a Full Reset. Settings>About>Factory data reset> This has helped me with some problems and could fix your problem. You will lose your bookmarks but not your Queues, if you have them synced. Settings>Accounts & sync>click on your account>check the Sync Queue box.

    Hope this helps :)
     
  3. TheSanTechnologist

    TheSanTechnologist New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Factory reset will force you to do a reconfiguration of the system. Something to be aware of, and isn't always the best solution.
     
  4. brucebanner

    brucebanner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it wont work anyways, this is something logitech ****** up and broke in the last update
     
  5. Bielefeld

    Bielefeld New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Logan UT
    Yeah you are right it did not work. Is there anyway to revert back to an earlier update? Or am I just screwed?
     
  6. bren999

    bren999 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey ive found a fix that works for me all my xvid encoded avi files now play again. Go to google chrome apllication and in settings goto advanced user agent and change to default, mine was set on generic for when hulu used to work. Hope this helps :)
     
  7. fkasten

    fkasten New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hulu still works.
     
  8. brucebanner

    brucebanner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hulu doesnt work, if it works for you, how are you getting it to work, ive tried everything from different user agents such as custom ones and still no go

    also to bren, your fix doesnt work, my user agent was already set to default and i still cant play the video i could play before, i dont see how the user agent affect logitech media player whatsoever, but if youd like to chime in please feel free.

    im just holding out hope for some great news for gtv but im really losing my patience.
     
  9. bren999

    bren999 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Changing the user agent in chrome is the only thing i have done since the 29th March update which broke my ability to play my avi files.

    All i can suggest you do then is to set your user agent in chrome to generic and then switch back to default. I never messed about with adding any other custom user agents. When i did this my xvids magically started working again. Btw im using tversity as dlna server.
     
  10. fkasten

    fkasten New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I watch hulu though PlayOn. Works like a champ. No need to mess with user agents.
     
  11. brucebanner

    brucebanner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    playon, you pay for it?
     
  12. brucebanner

    brucebanner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ill try tversity i stopped using it because it stopped working as well. and i did try different combos of user agent, but havent tried tversity
     
  13. fkasten

    fkasten New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, It took advantage of a $20 1st year special offer and will pay $20/yr in the future if I keep it. That's $1.67/mo.
     
  14. bren999

    bren999 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey let us know how you get on with trying what i did Bruce, It might be because of combo of tversity! and user agent in chrome :)
     
  15. portis

    portis New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am in the same boat. I was very happy with my revue and now I am considering getting another media player and sell this one. I feel like a Guinea pig after spending $300 on a device that is getting worst. I would not recommend it to anybody.
     
  16. brucebanner

    brucebanner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it seems to work a little better now, i set the user agent to i think default, and tversity plays most files now, but still not all. its wierd though, say i have a 2 part files to a movie, it will play the second file and not the first.this thing is ridiculous.
     
  17. bren999

    bren999 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh right at least you have some more functionality. Im only aware of mp4 files and Vob files not playing back through revue. All xvid avi content i have has played back without problem including large MKV files.
     
  18. AlaskanOgre

    AlaskanOgre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After a lot of frustration with my personal Revue (and a clients) not playing most of my movies after that update I began reading on this issue and found that it's got to be a codec issue not being fully supported in the Logitech Player. I posted how to easily convert the videos to overcome this problem over on my business forum.

    http://matsucomputermedics.com/inde...56-Logitech-Revue-wont-play-some-of-my-Movies
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

google tv media player error

,

logitech error playing media

,

logitech revue cannot play video

,

logitech revue hard drive movie keeps crashing