Quantcast

DVR working within GTV in Canada!!!

Discussion in 'Google TV Hardware Discussion' started by chopper, Jan 22, 2012.

  1. chopper

    chopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    This tenacious man got some GTV cable functionality working by playing around with some settings for Telus Optic. If other's share their success with other Canadian cable providers here that would be awesome! Please state your location, cable provider, set top box model and the settings that work for you.



    If anyone gets it to bring up DVR recordings please make a You Tube Video and post it here! For now channel surfing and the program guide work.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 30, 2014
  2. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Heh. I'm glad you got it working but sorry it took you this long. There has been a walk-through posted here many months ago, "http://www.googletvforum.org/forum/logitech-revue/2679-how-setup-other-devices-logitech-revue.html". Controlling your set-top box with the Revue's keyboard or other input devices has nothing to do with living in Canada. They don't just give Canadians "special" IR devices which are incompatible with American remotes.

    The Logitech Revue uses the same database as the Logitech Harmony Remotes. Therefore, it can control ANY device that their remotes can. Since the Harmony database is one of the largest and growing database the chances for controlling any IR device by the Revue is very good. Regardless if you're living in Canada, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, or Cucamonga. The main issue for using the Revue outside of the states is that the search for programming not going to be relevant to your location and any other regional blocks which may be implemented by the individual providers.

    As for the DVR recordings aka Enhanced DVR / Advance Intergration, you'll need to bug your service provider into implementing it. According to the Google+ http://www.googletvforum.org/forum/google-tv-development-discussion/4430-hangout-larry-yang.html

     
  3. chopper

    chopper Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Thanks, sorry for the duplicate thread, and I will do this for sure!
     
  4. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83

Share This Page