Quantcast

DNS change really had that much of an effect..

Discussion in 'Google TV General Discussion' started by Scuzzo, Jan 13, 2012.

  1. Scuzzo

    Scuzzo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    28
    after getting a fairly sloggy surf experience with the Revue.. i changed the DNS to 8.8.8.8 and it seems that the pages load about 40% quicker.. and even Netflix seems to spool up with out the "we cannot play that blah blah blah" even when the buffer bar is only half way through,,, im thinking it must be placibo,, sp,, but there is not near the lag there was... might be worth a look see... if you are getting that netflix and surfing page not avail kinda errors..

    dunno... could just be a sugar pill.. but it seems to have a effect..
     
  2. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Actually, if you have a computer then you can verify whether or not that is true by using Namebench - Open-source DNS Benchmark Utility - Google Project Hosting.
     
  3. Scuzzo

    Scuzzo Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2011
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    28
    yep, ran the bench.. and it suggested googles.. 8.8.8.8 said my comcast chosen dns was 52% slower... thats a neat utility..
     
    • Like Like x 2
  4. roaoro

    roaoro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you tell us exactly what and how you did for this improvement?
     
  5. bkdg100

    bkdg100 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Using Google Public DNS
     
    • Like Like x 2
  6. CatfishRivers

    CatfishRivers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    14,604
    Likes Received:
    877
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Can this be done on the Logitech Revue (without the aid of a computer)? I have a wired ethernet connection and my ISP is Comcast.

    So is there some way I can go to Revue settings and accomplish changing the DNS? Could you elaborate on the steps?
     
  7. stuberman

    stuberman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Michigan
    1. Go to "System Settings" screen (from home page press Menu button)
    2. Choose "Network" option
    3. Choose "Ethernet" (wired) option
    4. Change "IP Settings" to "Static"
    5. Fill in values for DNS, as well as IP address, gateway (router) [if you don't know what those are you will need to first get them from the "Network" -> "Status" option before you make the changes]
     
    • Like Like x 4
  8. roaoro

    roaoro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does seem that changing the dns server speeds up the overall performance on my revue as well!
     
    • Like Like x 2
  9. roaoro

    roaoro New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried this and it said Quest was the fastest from the test, and 74% faster that my default dns server, so I tried it and it did seem to make quite a difference on my revue! I'm curious though, is there any reason to not use this Quest dns server vs the google one?
     
  10. stuberman

    stuberman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Michigan
    In theory the DNS servers automatically provided by your router (via your ISP) would be the best DNS servers, but there are a variety of reasons this is not true. The ISP may provide DNS servers which are not performing well or are geographically far away (distance affects latency due to the time it takes for a signal to travel called propagation delay).

    The only reason you might NOT want to use a faster server (such as the Quest DNS server) is if it was insecure or unreliable. I would feel comfortable using the Quest DNS server (although my results point me at OpenDNS and Hurricane Electric which are 93% faster than the Google DNS servers for my location.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Very well put, stuberman. I couldn't have said any better.
     
  12. alphawave7

    alphawave7 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Back when we were 'beta-testing' (aka early adopters) the 'Roku Netflix' box, we discovered the cdn servers auto-selected were often not the closest, and DNS had a direct relationship to which cdn server you attached to. After some testing (traceroutes,etc.) it was determined that OpenDNS DNS servers often provided the closest cdn servers, and it was recommended at that time to make the DNS change at the router itself.
    OpenDNS - Cloud Internet Security and DNS
     
  13. rebu2007

    rebu2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, is this change required on both the device and the router to make it work or would it be enough to make it just in the device? What are my options?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

change dns android tv

,

how to change dns on sharp aquos

,

how to change dns on sharp aquos tv

,

how to change the dns server on sharp aquos tv

,

netflix sharp aquos dns