Quantcast

Different types of DLNA servers for Logitech Media Player

Discussion in 'Logitech Revue' started by sparkyscott21, Feb 14, 2011.

  1. sparkyscott21

    sparkyscott21 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7,280
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northern Mich.
    [​IMG]
    What are the different types of DLNA servers for my Logitech Media Player on my Revue?


    There are many different type of DLNA servers that work with the Logitech Media Player application. Listed below are some of the most common DLNA servers that will work with the Logitech Media Player application:

    Twonky Server

    Tversity

    Windows Media Connect (WMC) 3.0 or higher

    Network Attached Storage (NAS) devices will also work with the Logitech Medial Player application.

    NOTE: This is not complete list of DLNA servers that will work with the Logitech Media Player application. Other DLNA servers may work. The inclusion of the products listed in this article does not imply any endorsement by Logitech.

    Revue Customer Care-Answers​
     
    • Like Like x 2
  2. towboy123

    towboy123 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    OBX of NC
    Nullrivers Media Link works pretty well for Mac
     
  3. sparkyscott21

    sparkyscott21 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7,280
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northern Mich.
    Another one for us apple users is called TVMOBiLI.
    It worked great from the first time I put it in..
     
  4. sparkyscott21

    sparkyscott21 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    7,280
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Northern Mich.
    Now as far as pcer's one that I know of is Windows Media Connect (WMC) 3.0 or higher
    Also look here as well....
    Revue Customer Care-Answers
     
  5. AlaskanOgre

    AlaskanOgre New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've tried several and have found Serviio to be a very good one. It's simple and is not overkill like so many of the others.
     
  6. wilburSOMA

    wilburSOMA New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    TVMOBiLI works best for me on Windows 7 64-bit. I hear that TVersity now supports the Revue with an a ready made profile.
     
  7. jncarent

    jncarent New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    100% of my movies work on my MiniDLNA Plug.

    hxxp://archlinuxarm.org/support/guides/applications/minidlna
     
  8. PhatboyC

    PhatboyC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Ontario/Canada
    I use DLNA via my Synology NAS. No problems. Well except the Revue doesn't play all video file format like most multimedia player. But good enough for now. Wish it would do DTS.

    Any change with the GTV 2.0 on this front? Would love to disable DLNS and just browse to my NAS with the Revue like my other multimedia player. No refresh, can give rights to delete files, etc...
     
  9. Intimnasc

    Intimnasc New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use the DLNA server with my Windows Home Server 2011.
     
  10. synopses

    synopses New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Twonky dlna server and it works great on the Revue. I have all the PC's and laptops connected .... it even has an android app for your smartphone ... it's awesome :cool:
     
  11. dproff

    dproff New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    PlayOn works great on the Revue. I've used this one for several years on other players and it is an open platform with 100's of plugins and scripts options.
     
  12. fromtheotherbay

    fromtheotherbay New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HI all,

    I have tried all the recommended media servers but have been unable to see mpeg-2 files on my PC on my Logitech Revue via the Media Player.

    With Tversity I was able to use the web interface to view/play the mpeg-2 files, but not with the Logitech Media Player included with the Revue.
    I have tried auto-transcoding ON to no avail.

    I am able to pull up the folders, but inside them none of the mpeg-2 files are listed.

    My DLNA compliant BD player is able to see and play my mpeg-2 files just fine.

    You guys know any media servers that would work with Revue for video formats like mpeg-2 that are not natively supported by the Revue?

    Thanks,
     
    • Like Like x 2
  13. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    You can try TwonkyMedia Server it has the Android Profile which is pretty close for the Revue. However, you may consider converting your media if quality is important since you'll lose image quality because of on-the-fly transcoding. I apologize for not answering your other post. I'll go do that now.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  14. fromtheotherbay

    fromtheotherbay New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After the 3.1 upgrade, I have tried both Windows Media Player and TVersity again. The new Logitech Media Player will now list the mpg files and even display the thumbnails, but when I try to play it says something like "can't play the video" and quits. So obviously there is no native support to play mpeg-2 files on 3.1. I am curious though by the lack of posting on this issue.. do folks not have mpeg-2 video that much on their systems? I will try Twonky once again tonight, but in the meantime if someone has had success with mpeg-2 files using the Logitech Media Player, please let me know.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  15. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I think the main issue with MPEG2 files is that they take up a considerable amount of room vs MPEG4 files. That's probably why not many people have MPEG2 files. My personal collection wouldn't be as large as it is if I didn't use MPEG4 over MPEG2.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  16. Vwhotbug

    Vwhotbug New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mezzmo 2.4.5.0

    has a working profile for Revue

    Plays all my vids including MKV blueray
     
    • Like Like x 2
  17. arielch

    arielch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you know if Mezzmo works ok with files like .m2ts ?
    I use a Twonky over a Qnap NAS.
    I have a lot of videos recorded with a panasonic fullhd camcorder but I can't find the way to watch them via Revue.
    Please if someone find the solution please let me know, thanks, regards,
     
  18. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I believe the reason why Twonky on your Qnap isn't able to stream it to the Revue, is because (like mine) transcoding isn't an option. You should be able to use a transcoding server application on your computer in order to play them on the Revue. I personally, tackled this by converting all my movies into a common format used by all my devices. I used Format Factory for the bulk of my videos but now I use AVS Converter.
     
  19. arielch

    arielch New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Eferz thanks for your answer.
    I'm not a specialist. I don't know exactly de reasson and I don't know if Twonky on Qnap transcoding the video.
    I can not understand why can not be resolved as being easier .m2ts a standard of most of the camcorder that records in hd.
    I thought it would be easier to see my videos.
    I don't want to be making each video format recorded. Is a lot of time...
    I just want to make it easier.
    thanks, regards,
     
  20. eferz

    eferz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    445
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I can tell you that if your Qnap NAS doesn't have a Core2 processor then the transcoding options are disabled in TwonkyMultimedia Server. I have the ARM based processor (Marvell 500Mhz) inside my Qnap TS-409 Pro Turbo, and it does not support transcoding even with the latest QKP update.

    The main problem is that the Revue does not support MPEG2 codec. Logitech does not provide support for it on the Revue. If you had the Sony Google TV Blu-Ray player (NSZ-GT1) it does have support for that format.

    I totally understand, it took me quite a few days to convert my 200+ movies using Format Factory. So, I can empathize with you. The saving grace of the process is that I was able to queue the entire conversion process and didn't have to manage it after it was instated. However, the best part of converting all my videos is now they work across all my devices.

    Like I said, the main problem is that the Revue does not support MPEG2 codec. So, your only options is to either convert the videos offline, or transcode the videos on-the-fly.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

dlna server and logitech media server

,

google tv dlna player

,

types of dlna

,

various dlna media application

,

what file types are supported by logitech media server